We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible spot for family relaxation, swims and peace of mind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible spot for family relaxation, swims and peace of mind”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

What a "welcoming, pretty and yet affordable" place to stay with our family. The staff and locals really went out of their way to help us enjoy and feel like we were part of the community! OUr family of 5 stayed for a month and this warm spirit never changed!!

We would recommend the Nanny Estates 100%.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

A friend and I went to Cabarete in January 2012. I did extensive reading about the town, the people and customs and accommodations available prior to leaving. We decided on the Nanny Estates.
I would not necessarily choose this location if I had children that might fall through the spiral staircase by running up or down. They could potentially drop through to the living room. Also the pool would only be useful to a child that could swim well or always wore water wings as it has quite a depth from its starting point. There are also strong undertows in the ocean adjacent to the dwellings.
Having said that, and I am reluctant to continue, for others have commented in a similar way - you are almost afraid to speak as highly of these condos as they deserve due to the fear of never finding one available in the future.
I would like to comment on Maria who manages the office as she has received some poor press from a previous poster.This woman could not have been more helpful if she had tried. We ran into problems with our flight and ended up showing up a day late. The driver from Nanny ( Ramon) waited for four hours for us because we could not contact them on a Sunday to give updates. She sent him again the next day and we were stunned to see him there waiting for us with a little sign. He spoke English well and provided some narrative in the ride to Cabarette as was true in the return trip. Maria was open to any question we fielded and Lourdes immediately had our tv replaced when we advised her that the one we had did not work.
The cleaning staff were excellent and my only regret is that we left tips suggested by a tourist book, They deserved more and had I understood the money better I would have left more than 20 pesos a day. We had taken some small gift like things with us and on our last day left it and clothes for them .We expect that they would sell it and end up with a top up anyway. Just looks cheap on our part though.
The scenery is beautiful from the bedroom balcony, patio and roof top garden space. There is also a small outdoor enclave facing the ocean where two chaise lounges were separated from everyone else around. We spent some sweet time just sitting watching kite surfers etc,
Nanny Estates is the perfect distance from Cabarette central. By the time you get to the condos there are seldom hawkers selling jewelry or wanting to braid your hair or give you a massage. It is probably much quieter than the hotels closer to the middle of town which have a lively night life.
For twenty pesos ( it varies sometimes, lol) you can take a bus to the center of town or to Janet's Grocery Store if you intend to cook. Rosa's is much closer but void of fresh veg or perhaps it was void of veg that I recognized as veg. We ate out quite a bit because we wanted to try the local food. The buses are hilarious and not for shy people at all. You might have to sit on someone's knee or with your derriere in a stranger's face. It does not take on an overly familiar flavor though, no one pinches you or anything like that. It is just the way it is. You can also take the bus ( guagua) to the town of Sousa nearby for the same amount of money if you want a change of scene.
The office would help you to arrange tours if asked. We were only there for a week and really wanted to be a part of the village even if it was as tourists. We had many wonderful experiences and that included with Dominican people.It reminded me of small town life in Canada in the 1950's in many ways.
It is a foreign country - don't take stupid chances you are with strangers and some of the strangers may be experiencing very hard times and feel desperately in need of money. It is an island that has experienced some hardship. It seems like everyone tries to work at something but sometimes there are too many motoconchos, or hair braiders to be able to put food on their tables..My view is that it would be as much my fault if I was robbed as the robbers.
Wonderful country and people, had great weather, healthy food and no problems when following traveler's rules for eating in lands other than your own.
Upon leaving my friend said that she was already grieving for our place at Nanny Estates, our pleasant neighbors and the depth of relaxation that we had achieved in such short order.Wah, I want to go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Large front bedrooms are probably quieter. All you would hear is the ocean but back bedrooms tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

After a little more than two weeks in Cabarete we have returned with fantastic experiences and a nice tan. Nanny Estates was the perfect place for our kite surf vacation. From the front door we had approximately 20 meters to the beach which is wide with the softest sand. The wind is good and the ocean is warm so there is no need for wetsuits.
Four people in a unit with three floors sound luxurious and it is (plenty of room for kite equipment). Our unit was incredibly cosy and the employees at Nanny Estates are incredible nice and helpful.
The centre is approximately 5 minutes in taxi or moto from Nanny Estates and once we got accustomed with the area and norms it was no problem getting around in the city.

I will recommend Nanny Estates to anyone but it is especially good for kite surfers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictorMoquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This was our second visit and we were once again, delighted. It keeps getting better. 2 Bdrm townhouse Unit was lovely and they all are fully outfitted with quality products. You will have an ocean view from whatever unit you are - this project was thoughtfully planned to take full advantage of the coveted location. Close enough but far enough away from Town to be quiet and private enough. Grounds are impressive - Estate like & location is right on Kite Beach, an easy (15 minute) beach stroll to the many restaurants in Cabarete. Professionally run (on site staff), security is never an issue or concern. Overall, the staff is simply amazing you will want for nothing. Don't want to cook or go out? A talented, reasonably priced chef is available (they clean up too) or pick up the house phone in your unit and call one of the many restaurants that deliver. Whether you are an extreme sports enthusiast or just want to relax there is no finer spot than the Nanny Estates. Clientele seems to be couples, young families - many of which are returning guests. A very nice mix. We travel to the DR twice yearly and can't believe our good fortunate to have discovered this gem.

Room Tip: All pictures on their website are ACCURATE! No surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FalWetVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
108 Mile Ranch, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We rented a hacienda on the beach for 3 couples, this was the best idea ever, we were close to all amenities, just a beautiful walk down the beach, the staff was fabulous....watch the waves thought they do get dangerous.
My friend dislocated her shoulder and all the staff came running and called an english speaking cab driver for her that spent the whole 4 hours in emergency room with them and translated for them....AMAZING !!!!
The place is gorgeous, lots of room, grocery store at entrance with everything you need and fully stocked house with all your needs!!! Iw ill be back with kids someday !!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.1 km away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.0 km away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 21 in Cabarete
347 reviews
1.6 km away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 21 in Cabarete
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 21 in Cabarete
1,559 reviews
1.1 km away
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
0.6 km away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 21 in Cabarete
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cabarete

Been to Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates

Property: Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates
Address: Calle Principal - Area Bahia De Arena | Cabarete, Cabarete 11111, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Price range (per night): $100
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Caribbean two story two bedroom townhouses are surrounded by beautiful tropical landscaping on private oceanfront property overlooking Cabarete Bay . Our property offers a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis court and free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabarete Beach House At Nanny Estates Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing