We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
60
131
77
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
131
77
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice pool cultural museum swimming pool beds are super comfortable small gym central location fitness center coconut shrimp worked great other hotels secure parking master suite maya museum few blocks clean hotel sitting area hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel was once my favorite. It’s located near to downtown and convenient. The plumbing in my room needed to be replaced. The tv system sucks, noise from the corridors make for poor sleep. The AC in my room was also rattling.
This place needs work to return to the once nice place that it was.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicte M, Director Comercial at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

We appreciate all your comments, please let us know in wich room number you stayed. We invite you to come back to our hotel. We are renovating our bathrooms and other hotel areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

The rooms are clean and comfortable and well taken care of. The beds are SUPER comfortable. The staff is nice and housekeeping does a great job. The only minor downside was the slight mildew smell in the room.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank CoreyUtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicte M, other at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear CoreyUtek, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. The issue about the mildew smell wil be reported to the housekeeping department.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

My boyfriend and I call this hotel our home in Chetumal, because that is exactly how the staff make us feel. We had stayed there for 4 nights during the end of year holidays for 2016/2017 and I wrote a review for that trip. We returned again exactly a year after (2017/2018 holidays); stayed the same dates even. This stay was even better than the 1st one. The only problem we had was a month prior to arriving in Mexico, because we tried booking over the phone but were told we could not reserve without paying for the room. We explained we had done it the year before since neither of us has a credit card, but that did not help the situation. Instead, we had to wait until we were there and hope they had the Master suite available. I cannot say that was a problem really, since the hotel has that policy and they are only trying to look out for themselves if in case you don't show up at the last minute. Anyway, when we arrived at the front desk the receptionist, Carlos, immediately remembered us from a whole year before. The master was not available at that time, and we got 2 nights in a Jr. then 2 nights in the master. Carlos even gave us his card so we could book through him on our next trip. (Staying here December 29th to January 2nd has become our official tradition). Everything was lovely just like our first visit. We were greeted with smiles by each and every staff member whenever they'd pass by us. We had not eaten at the restaurant the 1st time, but we tried it three times on this trip and they did not disappoint. (The coconut shrimp is a MUST). One should know, however, that while the food is very tasty, the prices are not on the cheaper end. Moving on to our day of gratitude. Our car had been giving us some problems after returning back from Playa Del Carmen late in the night. We went to Carlos inquiring about mechanics we could go to the next day, and he said he could find one to come here in the morning early. We were delighted to hear that, but no one wanted to come as it would be a Sunday. Nevertheless, Carlos came through for us and had the maintenance man, who was once a mechanic, Alex, attend to us then and there (midnight). Alex was the most kind-hearted person ever. By the end of our trip he was showing us pictures of his kids and grand kids, and connecting on Facebook. He checked our car and informed us it was an electrical issue and he could take us later in the day to an electrician. The next morning, bright and early we drove to find the electrician with Alex. We drove for hours, however, because everywhere was closed due to it having been a Sunday plus New Year Eve. Alex took us everywhere he knew of and finally found us someone. Not only that, but he made sure we got the very best deal! Additionally, Alex's shift is a night one, which meant he was helping us on his time off! There is a lot more I could say, but I will end with this...the staff at Capital Plaza go above and beyond for their guests! Cannot wait to return.

Love- Aitiana S. and Terrell G.

Room tip: Corner rooms are larger.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aitiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicte M, ventas at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Aitiana S,
We appreciate your comments about our hotel. It makes us proud to meet the needs of our customers in the best way we can. If you are going to return to our town, do not hesitate to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

This place tries really hard. Great staff, especially the doorman. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Location is great - right across from the highly recommended Museum of Mayan Culture.

Pool is nice. Internet was slow. Clean. Secure parking.

For tourists, Chetumal is a place for passing through only, but the Capital Plaza is a nice place for a night or two.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MattandLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicte M, Ventas at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear MattandLady,
Thank you for taking the time for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I am sure that all our hotel staff enjoyed attending to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We will keep in mind your remark about the internet service.

Beware!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

There is not much to do in Chetumal. We stayed for one night waiting for our flight. The hotel is nice but nothing special. The rooms are comfortable and rather clean but we felt some mold smell in our double. I didn't plan to use TV but I wanted to check some news. There were lots of chanels in english but the TV was broken I guess because it was very noisy. Hotel is located in the center of the city and there are some restaurants and eateries close by. There is a nice pool but water temperature was too cold for us :)

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MikeFinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews