We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CruiserPerth
Perth

Porn Thep OK Max (Aust)

Review of Porn-Thep Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Feb 2010
I have been to Mae Sot perhaps a dozen times and almost always stay at Porn Thep.I can't understand the previous traveller paying 900B.I was there 6 months ago and only paid 430B for a/c room.Fan rooms are even cheaper.Rooms are old but clean.Staff are friendly and helpful (limited English).If you have a vehicle you can park out the back where they have 24 hour security guard.(good idea for border town).Good central location near market.You can always go to Mae Sot Hill Hotel for a swim (80B)
Date of stay: September 2009
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel Site
0.9 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$40
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room No.5 Regular 1 Bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Maesot Siri
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$34
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
01 Superior 1
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$42
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
    4.2 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Mae Sot
    Reviews (18)
    Filter reviews
    18 results
    Traveller rating
    2
    2
    12
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2
    2
    12
    1
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 18 of 18 reviews
    Reviewed 26 January 2010

    For up to 450 baht a night, you get a mildew stained room that's damp and really cheap office carpeting. The lighting is dim, the hallways are dim, and the hotel looks about 30 years past its prime, and decayed to that amount. There are half a dozen better alternatives in Mae Sot for that amount of money. Room had a tiny and barely working TV, no internet, a non-functioning AC, broken bathroom tiles, and the bed smelled slightly. This hotel forms a part of Mae Sot's unfortunate underground sex trade - so unless that's your kind of thing, you'd better avoid it. Prepare to be offered all manner of young boys, girls, or women, typically by hotel employees right in the hotel lobby itself. Within walking distance is the much better DK Hotel, which costs the same, and was wifi. I left after a night.

    Date of stay: January 2010
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank bearanddragonNevada
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 December 2006

    This hotel never seems to get a mention, but there are few real hotels in Mae Sot, although over the past few years more and more backpacker guest houses have been appearing. This is an older style, basic commercial hotel; nothing special about it, but you can always get in; English is spoken; it is just off one of the two main streets and convenient for everywhere. It cost 900 baht a night, a bit expensive for what it is, but you are not going to stay in Mae Sot for more than a day or two anyway. Recommended as a second choice for central Mae Sot if you want a hotel rather than a guest house.

    Date of stay: November 2006
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank amq
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 December 2014 via mobile
    Google Translation

    Date of stay: December 2014
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 December 2014
    Google Translation

    Room tip: Goed om een nachtje over te blijven, niets meer, niets minder.
    Date of stay: November 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 September 2013
    Google Translation

    Date of stay: June 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews