We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ZornsLemma
London, UK

Comfortable and cheap, if a little run down

Review of Porn-Thep Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Nov 2013
I checked in here without a reservation at 2am and got a twin air-conditioned en suite room for 300 Baht for the night. The room was comfortable and clean, if slightly shabby. The staff were helpful and spoke a little English, enough to get me checked in - unusually, the check in form I was asked to fill in wasn't in both English and Thai, just in Thai, so I do wonder if this hotel is not aimed at Western tourists.

The location is good; Mae Sot isn't huge, but this is pretty central.

For the price I thought the hotel was excellent value. I would certainly stay here again, although I think I would prefer somewhere slightly more expensive but with wi-fi. (To be fair, I didn't ask if they had wi-fi, but there were no suggestively named networks visible when I checked, and I saw no mention of it anywhere.)
Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$27
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room No.5 Regular 1 Bed
AU$17
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
1.6 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$49
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Chambre lit king
AU$22
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$33
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel Site
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$46
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
01 Superior 1
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$43
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
1.5 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
4.2 km from Porn-Thep Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mae Sot
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
2
2
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
2
12
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2010

The room was dim but reasonably clean. However, the shower curtain appeared to be way overdue for a serious cleaning. The mildew on it was gross even though the tub was clean enough. For a little less, the DK Hotel a few blocks away provided more amenities such as a coffee service in the lobby as well as internet access in the lobby for a price.

What really turned me off was the sleazy "bell hop" (if you can call him that) asked me if I wanted a "woman' not once but three times. The first time was in the elevator and I said "no" emphatically. The second time was in the hallway outside the room and this time I was annoyed. The third time was after he let me into the room and I was angry. Persistent bugger. He brought the hotel down a few notches. By contrast, the DK had a sign posted in lobby stating "No sex tourism".

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rainmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I have been to Mae Sot perhaps a dozen times and almost always stay at Porn Thep.I can't understand the previous traveller paying 900B.I was there 6 months ago and only paid 430B for a/c room.Fan rooms are even cheaper.Rooms are old but clean.Staff are friendly and helpful (limited English).If you have a vehicle you can park out the back where they have 24 hour security guard.(good idea for border town).Good central location near market.You can always go to Mae Sot Hill Hotel for a swim (80B)

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CruiserPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2010

For up to 450 baht a night, you get a mildew stained room that's damp and really cheap office carpeting. The lighting is dim, the hallways are dim, and the hotel looks about 30 years past its prime, and decayed to that amount. There are half a dozen better alternatives in Mae Sot for that amount of money. Room had a tiny and barely working TV, no internet, a non-functioning AC, broken bathroom tiles, and the bed smelled slightly. This hotel forms a part of Mae Sot's unfortunate underground sex trade - so unless that's your kind of thing, you'd better avoid it. Prepare to be offered all manner of young boys, girls, or women, typically by hotel employees right in the hotel lobby itself. Within walking distance is the much better DK Hotel, which costs the same, and was wifi. I left after a night.

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bearanddragonNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2006

This hotel never seems to get a mention, but there are few real hotels in Mae Sot, although over the past few years more and more backpacker guest houses have been appearing. This is an older style, basic commercial hotel; nothing special about it, but you can always get in; English is spoken; it is just off one of the two main streets and convenient for everywhere. It cost 900 baht a night, a bit expensive for what it is, but you are not going to stay in Mae Sot for more than a day or two anyway. Recommended as a second choice for central Mae Sot if you want a hotel rather than a guest house.

Date of stay: November 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews