We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael P
Lao Cai Province, Vietnam

Typical Thai / Southeast Asian style budget hotel

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2020
This is a very typical budget hotel, the likes of which can be found all over SEA.

I paid a walk-in rate of 450 THB, which included a local style breakfast that I did not eat. I don't eat breakfast anyway, so never mind.

The room (and bathroom) were comfortable and clean enough for this price range.

It would be okay enough for a night or two.

The important stuff:

The hot water, air conditioning, and wi-fi were all fine. Plenty of parking. Easy walk to beer, restaurants, seven 11.

They sell cold beer in the lobby and there's a fridge in the room.

I'd stay here again, no worries.
Date of stay: August 2020
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$26
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$24
  • Vio.com
    AU$26
  • Agoda.com
    AU$26
1.1 km from The Queen Palace
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$93
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$87
  • Agoda.com
    AU$80
0.8 km from The Queen Palace
Maesot Siri
Priceline
AU$22
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$24
  • Agoda.com
    AU$20
  • Hotels.com
    AU$23
0.4 km from The Queen Palace
01 Superior 1
Booking.com
AU$38
  • Priceline
    AU$41
  • Agoda.com
    AU$33
  • Official Site
    AU$42
1.4 km from The Queen Palace
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$46
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    AU$46
  • Agoda.com
    AU$46
  • Expedia.com
0.9 km from The Queen Palace
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$19
  • Expedia.com
    AU$18
  • Trip.com
    AU$16
  • Agoda.com
    AU$19
1.7 km from The Queen Palace
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$50
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$50
  • Agoda.com
    AU$42
  • Expedia.com
    AU$48
1.7 km from The Queen Palace
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tempo Plus Apartment
Booking.com
AU$21
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$23
  • Agoda.com
    AU$16
  • Hotels.com
    AU$23
0.7 km from The Queen Palace
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$42
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$41
  • Vio.com
    AU$32
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$33
1.3 km from The Queen Palace
Priceline
AU$36
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$36
  • Vio.com
    AU$27
  • Agoda.com
    AU$31
2.3 km from The Queen Palace
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mae Sot
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
2
2
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
2
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

This was a nice place to sleep and work, with comfortable beds and good wifi.

The breakfast was a disappointment.
Soup,eggs,rice, really everything on the buffet was cold except for the jok.

These were in large buffet containers with a place for warming device. When staff was asked about this, they responded that it might damage the countertop to keep the food warm.

Curious.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2017

This place had all the things important to me: clean, good internet connection, hot water that is actually hot, a refrigerator, and a swimming pool as well. At 450 Baht for a standard room, that is hard to beat.

Room tip: Do not stay in the rooms next to the VIP Karaoke rooms on the bottom floor of the adjacent building.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel price is reasonable, not too expensive at all. Location is quite cozy without too much people. It is not far from the middle of the town, surrounded by nice local restaurants. Room is great but beware the mosquitoes when open balcony's door

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank kenazk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2015

This hotel isn't going to win any awards for luxury but it is good enough for a few nights stay in Mae Sot. Location is pretty good, just a short stroll into the centre of town & restaurants/ shops etc. I think we paid around 450 Baht a night for an air conditioned room with en-suit & balcony. Bed was comfortable enough.

There is a small swimming pool which is refreshing after a long hot day exploring the area.

I wouldn't bother with breakfast, better to head into the town as there are some really tasty and cheap options there.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michaelwI157QM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel reminded me of an old Soviet hotel. Big facade in the front with large lounge and front desk, but small rooms and a view that is anything but perfect. We looked out onto a concrete wall, where a small path lead behind the hotel. This path was mainly used as a bathroom for the hotel staff. The balcony therefor was of little use to us. The rooms itself was okay with all the standards there. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast lacked a bit in imagination and we ended up eating tiny hotdogs.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews