We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
312
22
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
22
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the lake bird life northern thailand wonderful hosts chiang rai off the beaten track the cottages heart and soul perfect place to relax english breakfast a wonderful stay watching the sunset couple of nights low season golden triangle area jim mum
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Viang Yonok had us at hello.
We were given warm hospitality and the welcome of friends long lost. Felt so at home we could have stayed much longer. Ian and Vassana are wonderful hosts. Our stay at Viang Yonok beats staying at the five star resort we arrived from. Thanks Ian and Vassana.

Tips for other travellers:
Breakfast is a must. Hearty as well as healthy.
Don't miss the wonderful home-cooked dinner of market fresh ingredients and surprising menu based on Mother's inspiration for that day. Start the day right, end the day right!

Charming rustic rooms with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Wake up to a busy gallery of birds going through their morning regime by the lake. What more could one ask for?

Room Tip: All the rooms are set in a sprawling tropical garden with flowering and fruiting plants and trees. The lake can be viewed from whichever room. And don't forget swimmies for a dip in the sizeable pool.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank timmelina2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi timmelina2017,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is most gratifying to read your kind comments. We know we are lucky to live in such a wonderful location and are always happy to have guests come and share it with us.
Thank you again and Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

The best bit about staying here are the people you will meet. Vanassa pours her heart and soul into the place and you can tell, she is very keen for you to have a wonderful stay. For us, this included driving us into the local town of Chiang Saen and offering two wonderful “Mama cooked” dinners for us. Her husband Ian has had such an interesting life - the two of them are well travelled and we thoroughly enjoyed all our conversations on a wide range of topics. Our tour of the property with Ian, my husband drooling over his classic motorbikes and eating fresh lychee from the tree, was a real highlight.
Yes, this is their business but especially when you are staying in low season and are the only guests, you leave feeling that you have stayed with friends.
The cottages are delightful, our one Egret had everything we needed, an efficient air conditioner, and including an impressive WIFI connection for “out in the sticks” location. We woke to a peaceful view overlooking the lake with to the sound of birds, many of whom we had never seen before. The grounds are beautifully kept and I enjoyed learning from Vanassa how she has created the gardens and why she has each plant where she does - not too much greenery near the cottages to keep bugs away, good flowers, doesn’t shed much etc. There has been so much thought gone into every aspect of Viang Yonok.
The lake is a tad disappointing at the moment on account of the extensive pond weed, which means kayaking are not really possible, Ian assures us we picked the worse possible time of year to visit and don’t get me wrong it is still beautiful, but we do urge the local authorities to do something about this overgrowth as they are losing their lake!
We were looking for a truly local experience and in this regard, Viang Yonok suited us well, we enjoyed being off the beaten track sharing a couple of nights with wonderful company.
Many thanks, Vanassa, Ian and Mama for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi Little W,
Thank you very much for your lovely, long and detailed review. A lot of ground covered there and it is great that you enjoyed your stay. Your words give us great satisfaction and we thank you for that. The local govt know about the weed on the lake and hopefully, they will do something about it soon.
Thank you again and Best wishes
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

A great place in north Thailand to get away and relax. Lakeside location with excellent views of the wildlife. The rooms are great, breakfast was top notch... watch-out for Ian's fresh home-made bread... it's something special.
Vassana is truly focused on customer satisfaction and that is all you need really. This is a destination that will see me and my fellow travelers coming back more than once. I don't rate five stars lightly.
I would recommend this place to anyone who can appreciate the natural environment and bird-life.

Room Tip: It looks to me that any room at Viang Yonok Hotel will be just fine.
Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Hi Peter N,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. A quality review from a discerning guest is worth, well, lots.... It is unquestionably a superb birding area, we take tea breaks with the binoculars at hand, to watch the many delightful species that live in the area.
One has to be be cautious with my home-made bread, otherwise one may check out with an expanded waist line and ill-fitting trousers...!
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We where at Viang Yonok Hotel for four nights with our daughter in her late teens and had a great time staying there.
The owner-couple are very nice, helpful, and entertaining people, the staff friendly and attentive, the bungalows are clean and in a good shape and the food is delicious.
The region offers both culturally interesting and scenic spots, but at least as important for me as a birder was the rich avial fauna (lots of wetland around there).
Should we ever happen to be in northern Thailand again we will definitely stay at this place!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lvk225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi lvk225,
Thank you very much for your great review. We do have the best of both worlds here; a wonderful old historic town nearby, that is the best example of a walled city, in the country and an amazing variety of birdlife in a beautiful natural area.
If you were happy with your stay, then we are happy too.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Very nice hotel (collection of individual cottages actually -- which is so much better than a hotel).The food (especially the English breakfast) was wonderful. Viang Yonok is out of the way and overlooks a lake/bird sanctuary and is only a short (5 minute) drive to Chiang Rai and the Golden Triangle area. The grounds are beautifully kept and the hosts were very helpful and informative. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake if you can - great view, especially of the sunset.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Palladinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Hi Palladinette,
Thank you very much for the great review. If you were happy staying here, then we are happy too.
Best wishes
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews