We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday spot in Nth Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed here a few weeks ago and absolutely loved it. We have been to Thailand about 7 times and have to say that we have never experienced this kind of service anywhere else. We extended our stay as we liked it so much. Thank you Ian and Vanessa for making our stay so memorable.
If you are looking for a 'time out' from the tourist route then Viang Yonok is the right place for you. The rooms are great, (we had a free upgrade), the grounds are beautiful, the food AMAZING, the staff so friendly and helpful, the sunsets beautiful, did I mention the food was AMAZING? Really this was a great holiday spot just 4k's from the lovely little town of Chiang Saen.
We will be back! Thanks for the pancake mix too, if we close our eyes while we eat the pancakes we can almost pretend we are in your dining room :)

Thanks heaps, Lynette and Andrew

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merryfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Hi Merryfam,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It's great to hear that you loved our service, food & everything else and had such a memorable stay. Best service in 7 trips to Thailand is wonderful to hear. I guess we must be doing things about right....
There is a lot to see up here, so we look forward to your return visit and we'll show you some more of the wonders of Chiang Rai.
Best wishes
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

My wife and I spent 10 days at Viang Yonok over Christmas and New Year and struggle to find words to adequately describe a truly wonderful experience.
Viang Yonok has received a lot of praise in trip advisor reviews and we can now say all are well deserved.

The feeling of the stay for me is best described like slipping on your favourite soft leather shoes.... Everything fits perfectly and there are no points of friction.

The "hotel" is like going home, with Ian and Vassana (jim) and her mother in the Kitchen and the staff attending to your every whim with genuine desire to make your stay meet or exceed expectations.

The majority of guests seem to stay only a few days and move on their journey but we found Viang Yonok a great base to explore the region. Viang Yonok have a variety of vehicles available and good drivers and guides when required.

Ian and Vassanna will generously spend their time advising on trip options.

Christmas eve was a surprise as Ian and Vassanna turned on a full Christmas turkey dinner as a gift to all guests. A robust Santa even rode up on a red 1950's vintage BSA motorbike and after dispensing gifts to all disappeared into the night. The evening continued with a good old sing for your supper from each villa with all joining in the spirit. A very special night all of us will remember.

Ian took us out on a couple of day trips himself, well off the normal tourist routes out to some remote areas near the Mayanmar Border. Both fantastic trips with full on background information. Beautiful mountain scenery and interesting places to stop. An amazing cake shop on top of a hill in a tea plantation. Cakes like you would not believe.

We felt totally relaxed the whole time in the tranquil lush green environment and with the quality of the food served up by Vassanna and her mother it was necessary to get on the mountain bike for a ride around the bird sanctuary lake that fronts the rooms to burn a few calories in the morning when possible.

I could go on and on but might lose credibility. Gotta mention the coffee tho... We brought 2 Kgs home with us...and also the full on English breakfast, get the scrambled eggs!

If you are looking for nightclubs or decaffeinated green tea, Viang Yonok might not be your place.

If you are looking for relaxation, great food and pampering in a beautiful location as a base for exploring the far north of Thailand, this is the spot. We will be back!

oh and the Villas are great!

Room Tip: Lake view best of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Hi Chris H,
Thank you very much for your lovely, long and detailed review. We are very happy you enjoyed your Christmas holiday at Viang Yonok. Christmas Day was wonderful and everyone had a lot of fun. Thanks for joining in. It was also good that we were able to show you some of the great places to visit here in Chiang Rai.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The rooms here are beautiful and very comfortable. Ours overlooked the lake with gorgeous sunsets and views of the water birds. The food was very good and we were treated to a wonderful Christmas meal by Ian and Vanessa, followed by the guests entertaining each other! Great fun! We thoroughly recommend a stay here, for luxury and attention to detail.

Room Tip: All good from what we could see but we liked ours overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eunice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Hi Eunice P,
Thank you very much for you great review. Glad you enjoyed Christmas at Viang Yonok, it was a great day.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The best of east and west - local charm and western amenities, food is delicious, sunsets are spectacular. But probably the day trips provided by the owner and one of which we took, was the most unexpected surprise. Away from the main road, occupied by tourist bus companies, down narrow, twisted roads used only by locals, to the villages where people do not dress for tourists and where you can get a glimpse of real life. Outstanding place, great people.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Hi Natasha W,
Thank you very much indeed for your kind review. We're happy you enjoyed the tour up in the mountains, away from the touristy areas. We have some of the best scenery in northern Thailand, when you get away from the main roads.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Ian and Vanessa really made us very welcome and we can't recommend this quiet little place highly enough. Chiang Saen is a nice quiet little place, perfect for a get-away-from-it-all type trip but a couple of days is probably enough. Food traditonal Thai was also very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rollo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Hi Rollo S,
Thank you very much for your review. It is most satisfying that you would highly recommend us. It depends what you like, but many people stay here for 4 or 5 days and still wish they had stayed longer, as the reviewer below noted. There are a lot of things to see up here as well as it being a wonderful location to relax in.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
10.8 km away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
27.3 km away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
29.3 km away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
DoiTung Lodge
DoiTung Lodge
#27 of 108 in Chiang Rai
38 reviews
12.1 km away
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
28.4 km away
Manee Dheva Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Chiang Saen

Been to Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club

Address: 201 Moo 3 | Yonok, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range: $69 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Paradise. Family run hotel with a 5 star touch at the magical tranquil bird sanctuary of Chiang Saen Lake. Seven private bungalows and garden restaurant. Free; sports club, swimming pool, gym, sauna, high speed wifi, kayaks, mountain bikes, shuttle transport 4 klms to Chiang Saen. Airport, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong transfers & day trips or tours. No ++ on the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viang Yonok Chiang Saen
Hotel Viang Yonok
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club Chiang Rai Province/Chiang Saen, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing