We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
73
42
25
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
42
25
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tourist season nightly entertainment poolside service e bike made to order eggs rooms are spacious the ground floor yogurt great room perfect location swimming pool lovely pool early in the morning minute walk bus station an oasis the main road
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights in November - we had a pool facing room on the ground floor. It was a really nice room with a sitting area that's partitioned off from the bedroom which was nice to lounge in with our glasses of wine. We did hear the puppet show (goes on until about 9pm) in the second room but it did not bother us.

The hotel can provide you with a very basic packed breakfast if you're trying to make it out to catch the sunrise - drinks / water are not provided with the packed breakfast. The hotel has a nice pool area which is a welcome respite from the afternoon sun after a tiring morning of exploring. The pool area is very relaxed and green and is perfect if you're after some chill out by the pool time in addition to exploring the temples.

The day reception staff did not speak very good English but Kaung (one of the bellboys who also mans reception at night) speaks better English and was very helpful in terms of our organizing excursions, packed breakfast and communicating with the day reception staff.

Now for the not so good. The hotel couldn't give us a late check out and offered to let us take shower in the spa before our flight. The shower room was one of the rooms used for the spa and was really dingy, the shower head splattered water all over, the door to the shower stall didnt close all the way and the water in the shower stall couldn't drain away. It was such a mess and a bad way to end our lovely stay.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who's after some pool time in addition to exploring the temples. However, I don't think they are up to boutique hotel standard.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank llyrvak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The hotel is located about 20 minutes away from the Bagan airport. We arrived well before our check-in time and were able to get into our room early with no problems (this may depend on availability). The rooms are very spacious and clean and the staff very attentive. They do not have much in the way of brochures on things to do in the area but there is a tourist office less than a 5 minute walk away. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning - which was a good mix of western and authentic Myanmar cuisine. The pool area was great and clean. The evening show and happy hour are geared directly at tourists and were a little much but was to be expected. All in all, the location was great (10 minute walk into the village), staff was super helpful, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. For the price point I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are on the ground floor have a room facing away from the pool
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

A three star hotel with a slight resort feel, due to outdoor dining area, nice swimming pool area, and private location. Staff has been helpful to arrange bikes, flight tickets etc, and staff's willingness to help is authentic. Nonetheless, you can notice they are not fully experienced in handling international tourism, with little things here and there missing. Then again, this is Burma and not Thailand, so this lack of experience mostly make the stay more interesting. Swimming pool is not heated which is a major disappointment, as it makes it hard to relax in the beautiful looking swimming pool area (or it is heated, just kept too cold). Rooms are very fresh and modern, with good beds, even though the pipes in the bathroom occasionally smells. Breakfast is basic, and dining quality so-so, but the outdoor settings is nice in the evening, and again, this is Burma, so these small things doesn't matter much. All in all a pleasant place to stay in New Bagan, close to Sunset Garden Bar nearby for great views of the river at sunset.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peter-benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing staffs, nicely designed rooms, delicious food and amazing swimming pool! It is the type of hotel that's more beautiful than those advertised photos! Was debating to change our itinerary just to stay at Amaya for one extra night!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Xue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

for this category of hotel and price, they must do better.
the hotel itself and its facilities, lobby, garden, pool, are nicely decorated and well maintained.
the room was large and quite okay. we cannot say the same about the bathroom.
bathtub wasn't spotless, not to say not clean. mold around the tub, the shower towels pretty old and dirty. the toilet, in the bathroom, were smelly. really not enjoyable.
the bed wasn't comfortable. the air-conditioning was noisy. we had the choice to sleep in a warm and quiet room or in a cool room with a diesel engine.
the breakfast was bad, the coffee horrible. like every hotel in Myanmar.
the staff very kindly and smiling.
the hotel is off the down town, so not a lot of options for dinner next to the hotel. but with a 15 to 20 minutes walk, you will get there with all the restaurant options.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thierry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews