We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
36
78
41
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
78
41
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelswimming poolnew baganbreakfast buffetfront office managerhotel is situatedmount poparooms are cleanenjoyed our staygardenretreatdipaungmosquitoes
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2016

#1 BRING AMERICAN MONEY TO USE HERE! We work in Cambodia so earn US dollars which we changed to MMK so we were frustrated when we ate here and had to pay a somewhat extortionate exchange rate when they converted the US prices into MMK. This was pretty annoying for us AND the menu items are totally over-priced...even if the food does taste good. One night, however, I had a piece of a Brillo pad in my food and I did notify staff but they seemed to care less.
#2 DO YOU NEED TO DO WORK USING THE INTERNET IN YOUR ROOM? If you do, this is NOT the place for you. There's NO reliable internet in the rooms - you've gotta go to the lobby or pool to have internet access.
#3 ARE YOU IN YOUR 60s and EUROPEAN? This IS your equivalent hostel with loads of French and German tourists and a high turnover rate, it could be your social haven if you're in your 60s and a solo German/French traveller
#4 BRING BUG SPRAY! The mosquitoes are devils here. And with zika and dengue in the area, you don't want to risk it.
#5 LOVELY pool (with our bug spray) was enjoyable to lounge around after a day of temple exploring!
#6 Do you enjoy your English TV programs for some down time in the evenings/daytime? Avoid this place if you do. The 10 TV channels are limited.
#7 Wasn't a fan of the bathroom and the shower which made the entire bathroom wet.
#8 Beds were pretty comfy but the room itself is pretty old and dated.
#9 LAST BUT NOT LEAST - The staff are LOVELY. There are also A LOT of people on staff ready and eager to help you but PLEASE be patient as their English is a bit weak and they should NOT be faulted on that! :)

Room Tip: Ask for one close to reception to get wifi?
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We were booked in here as part of a tour. Rooms very dated and just about acceptable. The hotel itself is a bit dated but it does have a lovely pool. The internet was atrocious and one had to go to reception to ensure good connection. Food was tasteless and servers were hard to find and even harder to communicate with. Pay more and stay away!

Room Tip: Bungalows looked good or pool facing rooms
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Be Aware - This modern hotel is popular as it is located opposite the bus station, the bungalows are not at this location they are on the edge of town - they charge for wifi which is non existent, there is no phone connection to communicate with the main hotel - if you want to stay out of town - book the Eternity - better price and superior in every way. My experience was a room with an ensuite and no running water - after 7 dusty hours in a train - no shower and broken toilet, no wifi, a telephone but no connection, there is one powerpoint in the room for the television - the air conditioning worked.
On arrival after checkin, the manager advised that a small truck was there to take me to the bungalow - nowhere in the hotel advertising and information does it state that the bungalows are off site - really off-site - located in a remote spot at the checkpoint all trucks transporting people up to Golden Rock pass through continuously from 5am until 6pm - you need to go back into town to get onto one of these trucks and to go to breakfast at the hotel. At the bungalow there is no way to contact the hotel (the lad who left we at the bungalow saying contact me if you have any problems - simply disappeared, the wifi did not work - no signal at all, the toilet was broken and there was no running water. Advising the manager of these inadequacies - he was completely unapologetic and refused to make compensation of any kind - not even an offer of a shower at the hotel. This is the worst experience in 3 years of travelling in Asia - even the most basic accommodation provides access to a shower of some kind.

Room Tip: Bungalows isolated - no communication with the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tang0Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Besides the nice little garden and the good breakfast buffet, our stay was quite disappointing.
The staff is really nice but totally incapable!
We ask for a pick up service from the airport which was already difficult.
When we arrived, it took them about half an hour until they found our hotel reservation. The hotel voucher we showed them didn't help neither.
We wanted to book a flight, as they also offer in the hotel brochure - but after 1 1/2 days, of sorry, sorry and other excuses, we booked the flight with an "travel agency" on the street within 10min.
The Gym supposed to be open until 10:00 p.m but unfortunately at 8:00p.m we had to realize that it was closed.
It says the hotel has a spa - but while asking, we always received the answer, that there is no spa...
Taking a nap during day time was almost impossible, as the phone of the reception kept ringing so loudly, that it was hard to fall asleep.
What I also found quite disgusting, was that the rooms have carpets and are not cleaned with a hoover - just imagining all the dust and dirt people are bringing into the room after there tours through Bagan.
All in all I would not recommend this hotel as in additional the location is way to far away from downtown or pagodas.
From a hotel of this category and price I expect more.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank semiramia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

It was a pleasure to enjoy the swimming pool, the happy hour at the bar as well as the dinner. We were not lucky with rooms -701 & 702 - but it didn't change the value of this hotel. Be sure not to be in those rooms close to the road and reception, quit noisy when the staff decide to chat at 5:00.

Room Tip: Not 701 & 702
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews