We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ngorongoro Wildcamp(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
USD 836
USD 515
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gibbs Farm(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
USD 970
USD 944
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)(Great Value!)
USD 470
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
USD 590
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crater Forest Tented Camp(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Manor at Ngorongoro(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
242
158
38
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
158
38
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgenet catssuperb starlingssafari lodgegame drivesdining roomwildlife viewingdining areasouthern serengetiremote locationcamp firewildlife experiencelocation is excellentoff roadevery eveninghot waterconservation areathe cottages
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017

The staff are really friendly and helpful. The food is fine (we found most of the food average in Tanzania but we have different tastes and perhaps prefer the meat more tender plus we didn't go for the food!). The location is excellent, we watched a lion walk through the camp one morning which was spectacular. We also met the resident dig dig and genets! Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Very relaxed feel to the lodge. Electricity and wifi was only available for a couple of hours in evening and in morning however we didn't find this to be a problem.

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank KMack007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thanks so much for your kind review of our lodge. Being able to sit in the lounge, or at the campfire and see the wildlife up close certainly makes for a memorable experience. Guests love the comfy beds and pillows! I hope one day we will see you back at Ndutu Lodge.
Best wishes
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We have several safaris under our belt, and on most, we have visited Ndutu -- both during the high season around February/March and in the "off" season in August. And Ndutu Safari Lodge has established itself as our favorite anywhere -- not in spite of its lack of "luxe" status, but largely because of it.

My usual preference is for tented camps. Canvas offers that sense that you're one with nature, separated only by a relatively thin layer of cloth. Ndutu Safari Lodge offers (scrupulously clean, cozy, and comfortable) cottages instead -- but the sense here of history, of authenticity, of proximity to nature and a reverence for both flora and fauna and a genuine respect for the awesome experience its guests are immersed in while living the small taste of what those fortunate enough to live in the wild experience every day.

This lodge has good and wholesome food, terrific staff, clean and comfy rooms, access to wifi and electricity for charging batteries and cell phones -- all the standard features of an adequate accommodation. But it has something which some other camps and lodges lack -- and it has this in abundance. It has heart.

Its main lodge, with the banquettes and rough-hewn tables is open to the elements, with views out to the lake, a birdbath frequented by birds and other wildlife at all times of the day and night, resident Kirk's Dik-diks which beg adorably for popcorn around the campfire. It has a resident owner and a manager both of whom exhibit obvious care for the lodge, for its staff and for its clients. As the first lodge or camp at Ndutu, it has genuine history -- and it retains the feeling of an old-fashioned hunting camp, but with a modern respect for wildlife and true interest in the lives and doings of the local animals. The lodge publishes a semi-annual newsletter rich in news about the area, the people, the animals of Ndutu. And they have won many, many loyal clients who, like us, return whenever life's exigencies make it possible.

They also have a family of Common Genets which graces their dining room every evening, watching from the wooden rafters as we fascinating humanoids point our cameras at them and wonder at their adorableness. Worth a couple of nights here if for nothing else but a close-up experience with genets!

There are, I believe, more luxurious options in the area -- but Ndutu Safari Lodge always books up very early for Ndutu's high season, and I can even recommend it outside those traditionally "productive" months. There have been days, for us, when sitting at the breakfast table watching the birds at the birdbath long after the table has been cleared, then sitting in the lounge -- or just outside -- enjoying whatever passes by has been as satisfying as a game drive. This is a place of sublime peace at any time of year, and we'll be returning -- circumstances and health permitting -- in another couple of years. Highly recommended, provided you're not looking for rose petals in your claw-footed bathtub.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable. As with most lodges, if you have mobility issues, ask for a room close to the lounge/bar/dining room.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sandyleelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Stayed at Ndutu Safari Lodge for 3 nights - great place. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Need to highlight that we stayed here with our two year old and he absolutely loved it!

I see some of the other reviewers rating this place as average/poor - but one needs to factor in the remote location, difficulty in sourcing clean water to name a few.

Overall a great place to stay to view wildlife & good value for money and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hegde_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Despite the dry and dusty pre-rains conditions,the Lodge remained immaculate in every way. Great food and service as always and we had the privilege of being in one of the newly refurbished rooms. Cheerful, friendly experienced staff

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This was my first visit to Ndutu and I loved it. The Safari Lodge is so comfortable – I felt like I was in someone’s home. It’s a great spot to break up the drive from Ngorongoro Crater to the Serengeti.

My room was quite small but more than adequate for what I needed. The beds are comfortable and the showers are good.

It was so nice to sit by the fire before dinner, having cocktails while surrounded by dik diks. Watch out for your popcorn! More than half of my group had various dietary requirements and these were all well catered for. Our meals were very tasty and satisfying.

We didn’t see much game during our drives in the area but it’s so beautiful that it didn’t really matter.

My group only had one night here but we all agreed that an extra night would be ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Hi Kellie
So glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and thanks for taking the time to write the review. We love our resident dikdik and they provide a lot of pleasure for residents and guests alike. Very happy also to hear that you enjoyed the meals and that your friends with dietary requirements felt well looked after.
I hope you can come again to Ndutu Lodge and stay longer!
Best wishes
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews