We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
246
160
38
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
160
38
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperb starlingssafari lodgedining roomwildlife viewingdining areasouthern serengetiremote locationcamp firelocation is excellenthot waterevery eveningthe cottagesmain buildingbefore dinnerbeautiful placeraftersgenet
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Stayed at Ndutu Safari Lodge for 3 nights - great place. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Need to highlight that we stayed here with our two year old and he absolutely loved it!

I see some of the other reviewers rating this place as average/poor - but one needs to factor in the remote location, difficulty in sourcing clean water to name a few.

Overall a great place to stay to view wildlife & good value for money and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hegde_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Despite the dry and dusty pre-rains conditions,the Lodge remained immaculate in every way. Great food and service as always and we had the privilege of being in one of the newly refurbished rooms. Cheerful, friendly experienced staff

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This was my first visit to Ndutu and I loved it. The Safari Lodge is so comfortable – I felt like I was in someone’s home. It’s a great spot to break up the drive from Ngorongoro Crater to the Serengeti.

My room was quite small but more than adequate for what I needed. The beds are comfortable and the showers are good.

It was so nice to sit by the fire before dinner, having cocktails while surrounded by dik diks. Watch out for your popcorn! More than half of my group had various dietary requirements and these were all well catered for. Our meals were very tasty and satisfying.

We didn’t see much game during our drives in the area but it’s so beautiful that it didn’t really matter.

My group only had one night here but we all agreed that an extra night would be ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Hi Kellie
So glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and thanks for taking the time to write the review. We love our resident dikdik and they provide a lot of pleasure for residents and guests alike. Very happy also to hear that you enjoyed the meals and that your friends with dietary requirements felt well looked after.
I hope you can come again to Ndutu Lodge and stay longer!
Best wishes
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

I wish I could give a 3.5 rating, it is certainly above average but not "very good" either. There are lots of pluses and some minuses.

The incredibly remote location and the animal life in its surroundings provided us with some of the best animal spoting moments of our 5 day trip. So just for that, it was worth staying here.

The staff was very kind and friendly - although I found that to be the case consistently throughout all the hotels we stayed at. Food was at par with similar hotels, nothing spectacular but not bad either.

What I disliked was the accomodation in itself, really basic to a bare mininum - although I reckon that may be intentional? Still I thought it was a bit below my standards: too small, too bare.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank KooChoLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you for taking time to review our lodge in this forum. We are happy to know there were a lot of pluses for you and it is always good for us to know if we are not meeting our guests expectations so thank you also for detailing the negatives. We are not a luxury lodge and do not claim to be, our simplicity is not for everyone.
Best wishes
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Visited Ndutu Safari Lodge for four nights. At this time this area has an abundance of wild life,due to the wildebeest being here for calving. This lodge has separate chalets with an open Varandah area. The room was very comfortable and clean,and the toilet was quite spacious.Hot water was available. The added attraction was the Genets who visited the lobby/Dining area at night...which was a special reason we were here too,having read about them on TripAdvisor reviews. This is a birder's paradise,with flocks of superb starlings dominating the scene.
Being situated in the wilderness visitors are requested not to stray from the paths specially during the hours of darkness. An escort service is available if one wants to venture out at night. The meals were served in the spacious dining area,and was served at the table...They were well prepared and tasty. All in all we had a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your visit to Ndutu Lodge. We are happy you enjoyed our surroundings & accommodation & meals. The genets are certainly a highlight and so very endearing. A warm welcome back again.
Best wishes
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews