We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
306
151
17
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
151
17
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee plantation lunch box per item nice pool beautiful plantation one night vegetables and fruits deck area organic garden a great place to relax stir fry swimming pool short stay hotel grounds anywhere in the world buffet style safari trip
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We stayed here 2 weeks ago. The staff, accommodations, and food were great. The BIG complaint that I would like to see everyone bring to the attention of the lodge management is that the private guides, hired by the guests, are not invited to accompany their tour group to dinner. This is the British Colonial system, which has seen it's day come and go! Our guide was FANTASTIC, and an integral part of our vacation experience. Yet at some of the lodges we stayed in, he was not welcomed into their dining room. The guides were sitting elsewhere. Dinner is a great time to discuss the day's events, and the future day's plans with your guide. We checked and found it is not that the guides want to sit among themselves every night. It is that they are not welcomed in the guests' dining room. All who read this review, please ask Tloma to plan on your guide sitting at your table.

Other than this, we loved our time at Tloma lodge. It was a very convenient location for our Crater visit.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaramboiTentedLodge, Manager at Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Debpicker,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us while your safari in Tanzania. Thank you also for using your time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We take complains very serious and we act on it . Sorry for you had a bad experience that your guide did not seat with you for dinner. The guides have their table in the same restaurant and they eat the same food and they are happy with that but we do not prohibit the guide to seat with the client if they ask prior to dinner time. For everyone who ask to be seating with the guide on arrival we arrange for them. Please when you come next time just let us know on arrival that you would like to seat with your guide and we will be happy to arrange for you. We look forward to host you once again in future

Kind Regards
Happiness Akyoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Tloma Mountain Lodge was a welcome stop on a two week safari. The staff was attentive and friendly, the food was wonderful - most of it came from the gardens on site - and the atmosphere was unique in that you could walk around the grounds unattended (no dangerous animals to keep an eye out for) and the large rooms with fireplaces were a treat.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donnaH100WQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaramboiTentedLodge, Manager at Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear DonnaH,

Thank you very much for using your time to write a review about Tloma lodge. We are very happy you have chosen to stay with us and much happier that you write the feedback. The team at Tloma Lodge is there to ensure the customer satisfaction. We look forward you will give us another chance to host you, your friends and family in future

Asante sana
Happiness Akyoo
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Literally a plantation oasis near Karatu, this place was so nice. The grounds are spectacular, the food was great, the staff were all super friendly, and the rooms were very nice. My patio had an amazing sweeping view of the coffee plantation, comfortable bed, filtered water to drink (in room, not just a couple of bottles which was typically of most places I stayed) and very quiet. I would have stayed here an extra day to just relax if I had know how nice it was going to be. They have a pool, small gift shop, good wifi that was free and worked all over the lodge, massages are available, and of course they had really good locally sourced coffee and the Kilimanjaro beers were always cold!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Aaron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaramboiTentedLodge, Manager at Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Aaron O

Thank you very much for using your valuable time to share your experience with the rest of the world. The team at Tloma lodge is there to ensure the customer satisfaction and we are very happy to receive the feedback. We are looking forward to host you, your friends and your family in future. Thank you very much

Kind regards
Happiness Akyoo
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Tloma Lodge is a beautiful place in every aspect. The staff was most friendly, the food was fresh and delicious, our room was very comfortable and the view outstanding. We just regret not staying there longer... If we can, we will be back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dsloan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaramboiTentedLodge, Manager at Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Dsloan7

Thank you very much for using your valuable time to share your experience with the rest of the world. We hope next time you will plan to stay longer. We also hope that you will share your experience with so many people through a word of mouth. We are looking forward to host you and everyone you recommend in future. Once again Asante sana

Kind regards
Happiness Akyoo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

The rooms were basic but a welcome respite after a dusty safari. I like that everything they feed you is grown on site, including the coffee. The staff are friendly and at times attentive, but sometimes distracted.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank gillv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaramboiTentedLodge, Manager at Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for using your valuable time to write about Tloma Lodge. The team at the lodge is there to ensure the customer satisfaction and we take the comments very serious and act upon it. We are sorry you experienced that sometimes the staffs were distracted and we already acted on it. When you ever happen to come back you will see the difference and you will enjoy much more.
We are looking forward to host you again in future and make your stay memorable
Once again thank you very much

Best Regards
Happiness Akyoo
Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews