We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good food but mediocre rooms”
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We stayed here both before and after our Kilimanjaro climb we did with Shah tours. The staff at the hotel is friendly. The food in the restaurant especially the Indian food. My son thought the cheese naan and the chicken kebab was the best he ever tasted. The rooms are a bit rundown especially the bathrooms. The room we had when we came back had been sprayed for ants and they never cleaned up the dead ants. Also, the showers are hard to use as the water goes everywhere in the bathroom. The two things that marred our stay was that I left a pair of sandals in the outer pocket of my suitcase that we left in the hotel and they were taken. Als,o I bought a pair of pants at the gift store. I am not sure if the woman who works in the store does not speak good English but she quoted me one price on a pair of pants that I bought and then a different price was shown on our bill when we checked out. Other than that, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: It would be better to get a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travelorinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

An extremely warm welcome after a very long and uncomfortable journey from Aisha and Suzanne. Who had beaming smiles all the time. Good value food and drink.
Bedrooms rather basic but I always felt safe.
Thank You

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank _cornishpixie7_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

As soon as the gate opens into this hotel, you will find yourself in a lovely resort atmosphere surrounded by well-tended tropical vegetation and charming rooms with outdoor patios. The restaurant and bar are open air and located next to a sparkling clean pool. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. We stayed 2 nights, but would gladly have stayed longer if we could have. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy49007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We have planed to have dinner in town but because of the delicious food we decided to have dinner in the hotel every night. The pool was very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and very dedicated. We can just recommend this place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Felix J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Just completed our 7 day Machame, Mt. Kilimanjaro climb and post-climb 3 day Safari with Shah Tours, booked though Yampu (Vermont, USA). Both my wife and I summited without symptoms of altitude sickness; not so much as a headache. Our guides (Hillary & Musa) were fantastic! Pole! Pole! The Shah home office called our guide (while we were on the climb) to check and see that we were safe and to find out if we had made it to the summit; we were actually already on our way down. All of the handoffs were excellent. We felt very safe and well cared for. The Mountain Inn was a welcome stay after living in tents for a week and standing over open holes as toilets. The rooms were adequately comfortable. The pool was great! Very refreshing after the climb. Daiquirisatdawn must have a need to be pampered, but this couple (ages 59 & 61) were very pleased with the entire itinerary, accommodations, and transport. Once again, Hillary & Musa (on Kili climb), Richard (at Arusha National Park), cook, waiter, all porters, and the staff at Mountain Inn were excellent! Mountain Inn even did a load of laundry for us before leaving for Serengeti.
Thanks to everyone for helping us achieve a dream of a lifetime!
-Bob & Anne Kloos
August 4-19, 2017

Room Tip: Wifi is best out at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
2.1 km away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
13.3 km away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.4 km away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 17 in Moshi
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#4 of 17 in Moshi
38 reviews
1 km away
Keys Hotels Travel & Tours
2.7 km away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Address: Taifa Road | Kiborloni, Mnazi, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range: $77 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Inn is ideally situated at the foothills of Mount Kilimanjaro making it one of the top accommodations in Moshi, Tanzania. Additionally the hotel's restaurant offers the finest authentic Indian cuisine in town! Established in 1988, the hotel originally started as a base for trekkers. Over the years it has developed into a perfect place for all, accommodating travelers, businessmen, families and many more. Whatever the reason may be, you are all very welcome to Mountain Inn, a home away from home, a peaceful and tranquil environment with excellent Tanzanian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shah Tours - Mountain Inn Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi
Mountain Inn Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing