We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Inn
Nearby Hotels
USD 165
USD 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 85
USD 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 150
USD 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 60
USD 50
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Secret Garden(Moshi)(Great Value!)
USD 31
USD 25
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moshi Green Hostel(Moshi)(Great Value!)
USD 46
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
122
91
29
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
91
29
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshah toursindian foodkilimanjaro climbhigh altituderestaurant serveshot watermoshi townunforgettable experienceswimming poolkili airportnice place to stayrooms are largeday safaripost climbfelt very safedelicious foodpre and post
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We hiked Kili two weeks ago. The organization of the trip, the guides (Rocky, Agustino and Nelson), the porters, Hans our cook and Peter our "human alarm clock" were supperb. We definitely made it to the top thanks to the professionalism, care and knowledge of the team. I will definitely recommend Shah Tours to anyone who wants to hike Kili.
The hotel, on the other hand really needs more care and supervision. Hot water was not available in all rooms, some of the rooms were not clean enough and we find it a little bit expensive to wash clothes and rent equipment there.
I hope the manager takes some time to look into these issues and improve.

Room Tip: Ask if the hot water works as well as thelamps.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocolocobananamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our way and back from our kilimanjaro climb. Easy to locate, friendly staff and decent spacious basic rooms. This is a simple and convinient place for a day or two stop over.
Has a restaurant that serves meals. Meals are ok, you can request the chef if you want anyrhing specific. I recommend the curries and naan!
Has a pool, very good massagist(most needed after climb), and a small shop to hire gear for the climb.
I recommend this place as its value for money

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raha_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Climbing Kili with Shah tours was a great experience overall. They were a lot cheaper than what many other operators quoted and the guides and porters were fantastic. The food was good but was more or less the same each day (although you can't complain too much after watching the porters carry everything on their heads for 8 days). The accommodation at Mountain Inn was basic (as expected) but clean and comfortable enough. One issue we had was getting charged more than US$100 to have a small number of clothes washed when we got back after our climb. Make sure you get a washing quote before you hand the clothes over! Overall though, I would definitely recommend Shah tours.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah_Tours_Kili, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We really appreciate the review and are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and climb with us. We were very surprised, however thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have investigated further into it and according to our accounts the total amount for the laundry was 81,420 /= Tanzanian Shillings which is approximately US $50.48. Please could you scan and email us the receipt that you received after making the payment and we would be more than happy to refund you for what you may have been over charged for. We truly apologise if this is the case and for this. Welcome again to stay and tour with us in Tanzania. Kind regards from the staff of Mountain Inn and Shah Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Shah tours is a great tour operator and our Kilimanjaro climb with them was perfect!
They have excellent guides who took good care of us and helped us getting to the top.
The Mountain Inn is great beginning and end of the trip, the staff is very friendly and the Indian food is really good.
We can really recommend them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Mountain Inn in my opinion is a great place to stay for your Kili climb or Safari.

The Inn rooms are basic but suited our needs. We expected this though because we were visitiing a 3rd world country. This is a place were the average income is less then $50 US a month. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Showers in some rooms were less then ideal, but room 405, and 304 were good. The signal to the TV was lost after a storm, but other then BBC TV there was not much on anyway. The TV the dinning area worked great and movies channels were available. Power outages were frequent and the generators were turned off after 11PM. This would likely be a geographic issue. Make sure you bring some candles regardless of were you stay in Moshi.

The Staff was amazing. Absolutly no complaints. They all work very hard for very little, and still always seem to be happy.

The pool was great to cool off in and relax. Leaves did frequently get in the water, but the pool was cleaned often.

The food was good, but I did get a little tired of eggs, and toast every morning for breakfast. The portions were good. Items from the menu were also fantastic. I do recommend the Chili Chicken!

The Guides and Porters for the climb were top notch. Elia and Albert were amazing guides. Elia went above and beyond to ensure that all of us reached the summit. Safari (great name) was a fanastic porter/waiter. He was always great to talk too and highly respective. I have total respect for each of the 12 crew. They work so hard (carry 60 lbs) up the mountain to make our dreams come true. Our tips didn't seem enough when we thought about what they had to endure. I wish we could have tipped more. All seem pleasently happy with the ammount received. We tipped more then the KPAP recommendations. A+

Our Safari was fantastic. Robert our guide was very knowledgeable about the animals and parks we visited (Lake Manyara, and Ngorongor Crater). Our cook was very good and made us a special diner to celebrate our success of climbing the Umbwe route. His Pizza was amazing! He was also great to talk too and understood English ver well. A+

Overall I would recommend Shah Tours and the staff/crew we had.

Thanks You for the experience.

Room Tip: Bring travel adapters for Africa Bring Candles Internet service is Slow if it works. The internet cafe in Moshi is 1000 shillings for 1 hour and the speed is faster. The hotel is not high speed (Dialup). No Wifi at the Hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews