We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Inn
Nearby Hotels
USD 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 85
USD 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Honey Badger Lodge(Moshi)
USD 110
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Secret Garden(Moshi)(Great Value!)
USD 25
USD 24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 150
USD 127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 60
USD 50
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
122
90
29
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
90
29
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshah toursindian foodkilimanjaro climbhigh altituderestaurant serveshot watermoshi townunforgettable experienceswimming poolkili airportnice place to stayrooms are largeday safaripost climbfelt very safedelicious foodpre and post
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We (my husband, 21 year old daughter and I) used Shah Tours for our climb to Kilimanjaro and stayed at the Mountain Inn pre and post climb. I must say that we had the most amazing experience. All the arrangements were perfect - right from initial email communications with Mr. Hiten Pithia and Ms. Luzier, airport transfers, guides (Rocky and Remmy), porters, hotel stay, and food (amazing food!) at the restaurant at Mountain View. Every detail of the trip was well planned, organized, and executed. Our first meal after our climb was really superb! The porters they provided us for our trek on Machame Route were very experienced, encouraging, and friendly. The food during our climb was also very tasty (despite our special dietary requirements), and the porters and cooks were always there to help us and support us. They even carried me down when I felt altitude sickness at the peak. The rooms at the inn were nice and clean, with mosquito nets, good hot water in the showers. Felt like a guest house, more than a hotel. Really an amazing experience, especially since we were celebrating my husband's 50th Birthday!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reena0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah_Tours_Kili, Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Thank you Reena for the great review. Congratulations on your success on KIlimanjaro, and we welcome you to travel with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the Mountain Inn July 2012, celebrating my sons 18th birthday with a trek up Kilimanjaro followed by a short safari. Staff at the hotel were all very accomodating, friendly and excellent service. We had a surprise cake made for us during our stay, which was made the trip even more memorable. Food excellent, especially our first dinner off the mountain... freshly made burgers and a bottle of Kilimanjaro beer. Very flexible with timings, putting your needs first. The rooms are surprising large, prefect space for organising your packs. All very clean, quite and very restful. All in all excellent value and you would be hard pushed to find a better base to travel from. Logistically everything ran like clockwork, everything on plan and to time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah_Tours_Kili, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you very much for writing this review, we really appreciate it. We were very happy to assist and be apart of such a special birthday, and we are glad that you all enjoyed your stay and trip. Most welcome again to enjoy the freshly cooked burgers with Kilimanjaro beer :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

A group of friends and I decided to climb Mount Kilimanjaro with Shah Tours and it was absolutely the most memorable experience of my life thus far. Our rooms were excellent, with hot water constantly available in our washrooms - a pleasant change from what we had previously experienced in Tanzania (especially after our week-long and showerless hike). Dinner was fantastic in comparison to many other meals I have had in Tanzania - a 5 course meal including dessert - and breakfast was also greatly appreciated.

In terms of Shah Tours, the tour was simply amazing. Our guides, porters and cooks were all extremely friendly, helpful, and understanding of our needs. They helped those of us who got sick along the way, and helped us make it to the summit in time for the sunrise.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah_Tours_Kili, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

We really appreciate and thank you for the review that you have written for us, and glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Mountain Inn with the hot showers and food, and your overall experience with Shah Tours. Welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at Mountain Inn before and after our trip up Kili - Staff friendly and helpfull and food amazing!! great place 2 chill out pre and post climb. Guides and porters incredible and Kili trip was one of the best things weve ever done. All well organised (apart from the chaos at the starting gate - dont expect to head off straight away!!) Shah pick ups and drop offs all good and food and porters on the mountain all good - ul be well fed!! Guide and porter tipping all done at the mountain inn on return. My wife felt altitude sickness at 46oo mtrs and had to come down - our assistant guide (Eugustine) got her down safely and our main guide (Charles) took me to the top and they let me know she was down the mountain safely on the phone which was greatly apprecited. All in all great value - kili trips can be alot more expensive with other companies. Mountain Inn 6kms out of Moshi but 20 cence in a minivan to the town. much nicer than staying in moshi.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah_Tours_Kili, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Many thanks for taking the time out to write this review. We are glad that you had a great trip and stay here with us. Again congratulations for making it to the top. Very welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I decided with my friends over a year ago to climb Mount Kiilimanjaro - No doubt this is the most amazing and unforgettable experience of our lives. We organised our trip through Shah Tours, and were very impressed suggestions for making the logistical side of our trip as smooth and enjoyable as possible. All went well from moment we were picked up at Kili airport to being dropped off for return journey.
Mountain Inn was a pleasant way to start trip - and drive through rural Tanzania to start of Rongai route was a great experience in itself. Our guides were fantastic - and gave us all the support we needed to achieve our ultimate goal of successfully reaching the summit. After our descent we spent another night at Mountain Inn - the perfect way to unwind after such a gruelling 6 days. Would recommend staying an extra night to enjoy the pleasant and friendly surroundings. Our trip to Ngororongo Crater was simply stunning. Again, travelling through villages and towns in rural Tanzania was fantastic.My guide and driver was the wisest, friendliest and most charming gentleman you could wish for. His knowledge of all the wildlife was formidable. Our thanks Shah Tours for the memories of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aditya r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah_Tours_Kili, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Hi Aditya, we would like to sincerely thank you for writing this review and we are glad to know that you had an unforgettable experience and pleasant stay at Mountain Inn. Congratulations for reaching the summit and karibu tena (welcome again) to Tanzania!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews