We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beach Heaven!!”
other traveller has booked this property
View from the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
View from the deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mossel Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JanetMcCo...
2 reviews
“Beach Heaven!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Firstly, booking was so easy, the owner communicated with me and answered all my queries promptly, she was lovely.
Finding the house was simple, on the beach and in a secure development, we received good directions.
The house was perfect, the decor, furniture and fittings were very apt for a beach house, fresh, crisp white linen and ample towels but house and beach (the owner must love her towels!!).
Our welcome host was very informative and lovely to chat with about what was on offer, inside and outside the house.
The house also had lots of fun kids beach items, nets for rock pooling, body boards for the water, all only a few steps from the front door.
The location of the house made it walking distance to the local cafes, restaurants, antique shops and retail/commercial area for all our daily needs.
We would definitely recommend this house for families, couples and groups, it's spacious enough for all.
We would be happy to return and relax in the comfort, cook on the brai and chill on the roof top terrace: with the magnificent views of the ocean.
Thank you Anandi and team.
Take care,
Janet

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to the beach, relaxing in a comfortable house, or should I say: home from home!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali T
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A quiet, restful place for a perfect family holiday close to the ocean!”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful time in Barefoot lodge-it is such a beautiful home we just wish we could have stayed for longer! We spent most of our time on the roof deck or swimming in the tidal pools at the Point and even managed to find a place to hire surf boards at Diaz beach so kids were thrilled! The house is spotless- it has everything you could possibly wish for as a family of 5 down to a washing machine and bucket and spades! With full wifi and tv even the teenagers were happy and it is so close to restaurants we could leave the car behind or even order 'take out'.
The owners mum met us and was very helpful with information and advice. We hope to return some time to South Africa but next time we will definitely book in to Barefoot lodge for a much longer stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and decor
Liked least: Not having a super king bed!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic place in a great location”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The first thing I would say is that the communication with the owners was great, they were most helpful and answered out questions via email very quickly. On our arrival we were greeted with a friendly smile!!
The house is spotless. The décor is beautiful and light and furnished to a high standard. The amenities are second to none, you have the use of a washing machine and tumble driver which is very helpful!
There are local restaurant a stones throw away, offering great food and a great atmosphere.
We were due to drive to Knysna on our second day, but the place is so lovely we decided to stay and enjoy the beach and sea.
There is a great roof top area with a Braai and seating, which was lovely to have breakfast on. There is also an indoor Braai, which we didn't use but both were spotlessly clean.
Would we stay there again, most definitely!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernie308...
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL HOUSE IN MOSSEL BAY”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I visited with my husband and two teenage children in August. We had a wonderful time and only wish we could have stayed longer. The house is beautifully decorated and in a great position by the sea. There are lots of options for eating out close by, and a lovely walkway around the seafront. We were met and looked after by the owner's mum, who was a really lovely lady and couldn't do enough for us. She even arranged a delicious chocolate cake with candles for my son, as it was his birthday when we arrived. I would highly recommend this vacation home. We spent 3 weeks in South Africa in lots of different guesthouses, but this was certainly one of the best as far as space, location and friendliness of the owner went.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammby01
Kings lynn
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An absolute gem in Mossel Bay”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved our stay at Barefoot Lodge. The whole house is beautifully furnished in a beach theme throughout and the whole place oozes character. The rooms are spacious and two are en suite which is a bonus. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and starlight away noticed that the house had everything you could possible need for a stay. Loads of towels including beach towels, a fully and well equipped kitchen, even Tupperware if you need it as well as beach toys for the kids. I am very sensitive to noise at night but it was so quiet and the beds so comfortable that we slept really well here. The view from the deck is gorgeous and the house is literally a few steps from the beach. Great resteraunts nearby and some lovely coastal walks too. We will be staying here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from deck
Liked least: Nothing, liked it all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing