We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best holiday ever”

Unravel Surf Travel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer Surf Lessons, half-day & full-day Guided Surf Tours and Tour Guiding Services for day-trips in the Garden Route! Our Surf Lessons and Guided Surf Trips are tailored according to your level of experience and we surf waves that suit your ability. Our Surf Lessons cater for beginner to intermediate level surfers and our Guided Surf Tours cater for intermediate to advanced level surfers. Our Surf Instructors are qualified and accredited with Surfing South Africa (SSA) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). We follow professional and internationally recognized safety guidelines, but the mood is relaxed. There is loads of room for lots of fun!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Had an amazing time with these guys! Sunrise yoga, incredible outdoor activities, staying right on the beach and best of all, getting coached how to stand up on a wave in no time at all.
The surfer kids non profit is also an incredible part of this program and makes one feel like you are part of something very meaningful, not only for yourself.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank jubee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

8 - 12 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2014

Did some research before I travelled the garden route coastline as I was paranoid about being shark bait and wanted to get good equipment as I could nt bring my own board and suit. Really lucky I found Unravel Surf Lessons.

Before I met Hermann we exchanged a number of mails about types breaks that I wanted to surf and made a solid a plan before I got to SA which gave me a good insight on breaks/ beaches (Vic Bay, Wilderness, Buffels Bay, Brentons on Sea, J Bay breaks) along the Gardens route coast.

Surf

I am an intermediate goofy surfer, so I was interested in surfing nothing too crazy (super tubes - JBay) but good beach and reef (flat) lefts. I booked a two days surf guide. Hermann brought me to Buffels Bays which has two left beach breaks, reef (right) and a point break. My luck was in on day 1 as the waves, wind and swell were perfect, but Hermann help my luck by picking the ride tide time to paddle out. The swell was not massive so Hermann came out with me in flippers and gave me constant directions/ tips/ on selecting waves. Caught a ridiculous amount of waves but very lucky with near perfect conditions. Day 2 was not so lucky, surfed Buffels again the swell increased by 1 1/2 times, so power was on but the nice easy left was not working, so we paddle to a different section of the beach. Hermann gave me great tips on the rip and the line up to take to catch a couple of waves.

Equipment

Hermann had a selection of two different boards (8ft 2, 9ft) both in great conditions when we met and a couple of different wet suits to try on. Boards waxed up ready to go.

Ultimately had two great days surfing, good conservation about SA and got some good recommendations on local restaurants.

If you want hassle free, safe and great surf in SA get in touch with Hermann.

Date of experience: October 2014
3  Thank JimmoKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: March 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Unravel Surf Travel also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Unravel Surf Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing