We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The view maybe 4 stars but hotel is bland and dated. It feels more like a 3 star motel. The restaurant is ok but nothing special. The staff are very friendly however, it's just shame they don't renovate.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jah2864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantelMosselBay, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding our great service levels. We are pleased to advise you that we are in fact in progress with refurbishments to the hotel this year and will soon have a newly upgraded restaurant and rooms. We would love you to come back and enjoy the upgraded facilities.
with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager, The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

Walked in on the door, got a good (slightly out of season) rate. The room on the 5th floor had great views of the ocean, watched dolphins and either a sea lion or sea otter from the balcony. . . . The hotel is having a right result on account of the free swimming pool provided by mother nature adjacently located, 'appen you can only use it when the tides in, but we organised our day round high tide to make use of it. The crashing waves on the rocks make for an exhilarating time for the adventurous (reminiscent of an "old spice" advert I remember) - but this is optional, as also provided by the good Lord is a much calmer area for gentle breast stroke . . . .
The included breakfast was perfectly acceptable, and the bed was comfy enough.
Only downside was the fee for the wifi (but lots of places charge in SA at the moment) but Im sure it will change.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylortowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

We agree 100% on the fantastic sea views at The Point Hotel. Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The location and sea views from individual rooms are outstanding. The hotel interiors (lobby, restaurant, and rooms) are bland and sterile (you could be anywhere). We stayed one night and it was okay, but a little pricey for so little atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are pleased to announce that we are in progress with refurbishments to our restaurant and rooms which will update our look. We look forward to hosting you on a return trip to view the successful results.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager, The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Travelled on the 24th and over nighted to the 25th September 2011.
The room was booked by my daughter-in-law who gave it to my wife and myself as a birthday gift. The welcome at reception was outstanding and our room had a beautiful sea facing view
and in pristine condition. The room was very comfortable and afforded me a good nights rest.
The dinner was outstanding with the chef and staff constantly checking up and enquiring if the meal was up to standard or if we needed something extra. The same thing happened @ breakfast.
The staff were all very friendly and attentive and would recommend the hotel to any traveller going to visit Mossel Bay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointHotelManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback and comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your birthday gift! We pride ourselves on our friendly and warm hospitality and it is lovely to receive feedback which confirms how great our staff are! We look forward to hosting you on a return trip.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager, The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Firstly we had travelled from Port Elizabeth and were to say the least exhausted. On arrival the service was friendly and proffesional. The Hotel was quite full but attention was paid to us and we were settled into a lovely room overlooking the best sea view I have seen in a long time. The rooms are clean and neat and I'm sure they will upgrade to improve on slightly outdated decor etc.
We decided to stay for dinner and were pleasently surprised. Great service good food.
Woke up the next day to the sound of Whales a 100m from our balconty AWESOME!
Breakfast was good and served in a beautiful setting.
Will be back when we next this beautiful part of SA

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointHotelManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback and comments. The Point Hotel prides itself on our level of service and friendly staff and it is fabulous to get feedback like this. We look forward to hosting you on your return visit.

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager, The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.4 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
543 reviews
30.0 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
5.1 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
188 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Spa

Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $120 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, air-conditioned, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. Our in-house restaurant, The Lighthouse, serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge natural tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe swimming and bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze. The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combined with professional hospitality makes this a superb choice of venue for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Point Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing