We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whales and penguins!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Brak Beach House
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a great location if you want a nice quiet time to chill out and take in the beautiful beach scenery. A bit out of the way (Mosselbay town is about 150 rand taxi ride away) but a very quiet and relaxed place.
We saw whales very close to the beach and even a penguin that looked a bit lost. Phillip was very helpful and even advised us where to stay next as we wanted to hike and save a bit of money. Definitely a great place to stay if you're a bit partied out and want some quiet time.

Room Tip: Off season deal on private 2 bed ensuite, 3rd night free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a perfect location if your just looking to chill and do nothing. We stayed here for 4 nights in early July which is winter time here. Thankfully the weather was lovely in the day so we went for really long walks along the beach and spotted a couple of whales not far from the shore which was fantastic. Although Julia and phil do not offer a shuttle service ( which is a shame) you can get a cab to Mossel bay for 150 rand each way.
The ensuite rooms are lovely and we found phil and Julia really friendly and accommodating.
The train station is now a restaurant and pub which are really cute :) and we were lucky to have Sunday lunch here which was amazing :)

Room Tip: The location is out of reach from the town unless u get a cab. So,depending off what your looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We really enjoyed staying in this homely, peaceful hostel. It's really close to the beach, and has all the facilities you would need. As we visited in off-season, we had the whole apartment to ourselves! The staff were incredibly helpful, as they advised us on lots of places to visit along the Garden Route. The free breakfast was lovely as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, it was really close to the beach and it was out of town so a lot quieter and more peaceful. The rooms were lovely, great bathrooms, great included breakfast and wifi, well equipped kitchen, and the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimmergirl_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We only stayed for one night but would have gladly stayed for more. Large, clean rooms with a nice bathroom and powerful shower. Simple breakfast was waiting for us on the counter when we woke up. Julia was most welcoming and tipped us to the old train station restaurant close by which was amazing. We were completely satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
9.2 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
195 reviews
10 km away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
155 reviews
10.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
560 reviews
10.1 km away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#9 of 55 in Mossel Bay
413 reviews
10.3 km away
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
#6 of 39 in Mossel Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Brak Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Brak Beach House

Address: 9 Barwell Street | Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6503, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: $50 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Brak Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Little Brak Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing