We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stunning Serene hotel in the middle of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virunga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruhengeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Virunga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
369 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 677 helpful votes
“Stunning Serene hotel in the middle of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

This place was home for four days, it was about a 2-3 hr from Kigali, a very pleasant drive and a great way to see the country with a thousand hills.    There were four in our group with three rooms, my room was no. 1., close to the main lodge and with a beautiful view of the lake beneath, other rooms had views of either the lake or the volcanoes with their stunning cloud formations.  The room was really a spacioua cottage, with a nice terrace area with lounge chairs,  a four poster bed with mosquitoes netting ( but I did not get one single bite during the 5 days in this country) tons of candles, electricity and hot water from solar panels, comfy sitting sofa and writing desk, and a cheerful bathroom and toilet that looked out at the scenery in the garden.  
It was rainy season so we had momentary bursts of sunshine and warmth but also hours of cold wet weather where we congregated along with fellow travellers around the fireplace in the main lodge to swapped tales and photos.  All meals were served in the main lodge as well, good food in general and unlimited alcohol.
This place was not luxurious the way Indian safaris are ( ie not the Oberoi Jaipur "tents" with marble bathrooms, tubs and quilted tents) but it was comfortable and mostly built from local material (ie volcanic rocks).  
Views were amazing all over the property, plenty of opportunity to admire the volcanoes, the abundant birdlife, or take one of the walks around the property.  
Service was excellent and much better vs what we experienced ie in the best hotels in Kigali (whether Serena or hotel mille) ie tea delivered to the room 5 am, the staff would greet us post hike in the rain with umbrellas, take our muddy boots, and return them end of the day cleaned and looking almost brand new.  Dinner was always  lovingly prepared with choice of three entrees, the beds were warmed up nightly with hot water bottles.  
The highlight of any outing here of course is to see the mountain gorillas, so much more interesting   an encounter vs a typical African sit in your jeep & look for the big 5 experience, & this lodge was a perfect place for this.  

Only word of advice: don't fly Kenya air  (codeshare Delta & Klm,) I fly constantly and rank Kenya air as THE worst  ( Air India a close 2nd).  My trip home included two horrific KA segments which turned the normally 20 hr return trip into a  60 hr trip ordeal.  My friends had six segments on KA and everything that could go wrong ( ie lost luggages, tons of mechanical failures, food poisoning, arbitrarily changed flights without notification, missed connection due to KA "technical issues", being dropped off at KA arranged airport hotels only to realize hotel was full, etc. It was  ridiculous ... Don't fly KA unless time is not important (ie no job or loved ones to return to) & you enjoy sleeping in airports.   

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    41
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
111
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Seeing the gorillas is undoubtedly one of the best things I have ever experienced and is definitely worth all of the expense.
As for Virunga Lodge itself overall we were very happy with it. However my summary would be there is still a bit of room for improvement which would not matter except that at the price they're charging you'd expect perfection!
Location is amazing. The views are stunning and it is one of the most beautiful and peaceful places I have ever been. In comparison to it's main competitor sabyinyo lodge, the views are undoubtedly much better and the drive to get there is very picturesque. However this does mean it is further from the national park and the gorillas, so allow for having to get up an hour earlier if you stay here. It's an hours drive to the park.
Rooms - the rooms were gorgeous. I think there are only 8. It was an individual villa, very private and secluded. Really big and very nicely designed. The bed was large and comfy, it was spotlessly clean with no bugs and the shower was decent with constant hot water and a flush toilet. The veranda and view from the rooms are incredible.
Staff were friendly polite and helpful and there are great little touches such as when you return from trekking they take and wash all your muddy clothes and even clean up your hiking boots and return them to you clean to repack. Great!
The bar area is nice and cosy with a fire and all drinks are included in the price including reasonable south African wine.
The only 2 things that let it down were the food and the massage! They offer a free 30 min massage which sounds like a lovely idea post trek. However the woman doing it cannot possibly be qualified and both of us thought it the worst massage we've had. Painful and pointless. If you're not qualified don't give massages!
Food- the food was not bad but just not the standard you would expect for the price. Dinners are served communally and you get a choice of 2 starters and 2 mains per meal. Our first dinner the starter and main were both pretty nice, dessert was very poor both nights but this doesn't matter too much. Unfortunately our second nights dinner wasn't great either. Breakfast was fine although cold one day. As I said not bad just should be better for the price and nowhere near as good as the quality in our Mara safari lodge in Kenya.
However it was my birthday our first day there and although my partner only told them an hour before dinner they managed to bake me a proper birthday cake and the whole staff sang happy birthday!
So overall we had a fantastic time! I really loved it and would recommend it but it is extortionately expensive and not yet quite of the standard to justify the price.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gooldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fourways, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The hotel is very nice & with spectacular views but somewhat over priced. the rooms are very comfortable, the presentation of the food was good but not outstanding quality, and the wine list was severly lacking. For this price I expect more. it is also situated approx 60 minutes from the Parks HQ where the Gorilla Trekking starts from, so i would recommend staying there for relaxation after you have done all your trekking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG-JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spokane, washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Wonderful views, outstanding food, unbelievable adventure only exceeded by the fantastic service provided by a friendly and competent staff....unequalled.

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puttvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

This lodge was my favorite on safari. The stunning views and incredible service made it a wonderful kickoff off in Rwanda. The bungalows have all been updated with running water for showers and toilets. It is an Eco-lodge, so there are not plugs in the room to charge things, which can be done at the main lodge, and the lights are limited to evenings and early mornings. It still brings a smile to my face when I remember the "good morning" that I would hear as the staff would come to deliver tea or coffee to wake me in the morning. The food was outstanding and varied. And that staff couldn't be better. They were attentive, discreet, and friendly. Just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlegorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
16.5 km away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
20.9 km away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
20.5 km away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 14 in Ruhengeri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#4 of 14 in Ruhengeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
17.2 km away
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
17.1 km away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#2 of 10 in Musanze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virunga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virunga Lodge

Property: Virunga Lodge
Address: Lake Bulera, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Phone Number:
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Ruhengeri
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a spectacular location overlooking the Virunga volcanoes and shimmering lakes Ruhondo and Bulera.The magnificent Virunga Safari Lodge, set on a stunning hillside, has eight bandas with a panoramic view of the Virunga volcanoes and the lakes Ruhondo and Bulera. The terraced gardens on this high ridge are now well established, with a magical sunken paradise garden as their focal point. Aside from gorilla tracking , clients can climb a volcano, track the golden monkey, visit Dian Fossey's grave or go for gentle strolls around the picturesque villages near the lakes. Three hours' drive from Kigali or a long day's drive from Kampala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Virunga Hotel Ruhengeri
Virunga Lodge Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing