We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
37
54
28
17
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
54
28
17
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water decent hotel comfortable stay pizza stayed here for nights per night ethiopia gondar tour locals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020

I have to chuckle at how this hotel is describing itself, "AG Hotel is a wonderfully luxurious hotel" ... even for Gondar, I think this hotel is FAR from anything remotely luxurious, even by Ethiopian standards. Our room was cramped, outdated with broken furniture and very dark. There were several light fixtures in the room but the only that worked was the one on the wall over the bed. This hotel is what I would call very basic. The room and bathroom did seem clean enough though. There was only one electrical outlet but they had a power strip connected to it but only half the outlets worked. They placed this power strip on a dirty chair in the corner of the room so if you actually needed to use the chair, it seemed as though you'd need to unplug the power strip in order to do so. There was a wardrobe in the room with only one sad, totally mishapen wire hangar in it that you wouldn't be able to hang anything off of even if you wanted to. There was absolutely NO hot water in the morning for even a quick shower. I let the water run for over 10 minutes and gave up to having a freezing cold shower. The dinner and breakfast buffets were disappointing too with very limited selections of luke warm food. The wifi was very spotty and I kept losing the signal.

All in all, the location was convenient, but this was one of the worst hotels of our trip and I really can't recommend even one night here. I'm sure that most other hotels in the area would be much nicer places to stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

Comfortable enough in an OK, tertiary location but lots of things not working or a bit broken (wardrobe doors/hinges, bathroom cupboards...). The restaurant served a great lamb dish in the evening and breakfast, with an egg bar, was good.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StellaCoulthurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2020

This is a decent hotel. We had a comfortable, real king size bed, welcome after three days camping in the Simiens. The room had plenty of wardrobe space and the wi-fi worked really well so we could relax in the room and do some work. There was only one electrical outlet in the room but reception gave us a multi-plug so everything could charge. We did have problems with hot water because we were told that it was on demand. That was not true. After one of us had a cold shower we played with the knob under the heater and managed to make it come on. Why they lied to us is a big question. In addition, the pipes leaked and water was all over the floor, which we used our towels to wipe up. We only had soup and salad for dinner and our guide had a pizza and all were good. The breakfast is a buffet with many basic choices of local food and an egg bar for your choice of cooked eggs. There was also fresh juice with and without sugar and jams and peanut butter. The staff is friendly. And, power was on all night. The major issue for us was the laundry. We had given it the day before and were repeatedly lied to before our departure about the time it would return and where it was. For several hours the staff kept changing the time and even stated that they had hung it on the roof to dry. None of that was true. Finally, we demanded to have it returned but had to go to the laundry to collect it, still wet. They had also not kept it separate from other laundry and so we had to sort through what they gave us as it was not all ours and we were missing items. It was chaos and inexcusable.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

Loved the staff and the super nice location. Thank You for everything. These people went the extra mile by helping me out with lost luggage, cooking customized dinners and touring me in city. The room was pretty awesome and had a lovely balcony to look out on the busy but beautiful street.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank louismengistu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2019 via mobile

The hotel didn’t look much from the outside. A concrete block in Gondar’s slightly scruffy centre. It had a sterile, institutional feel upon entering and we weren’t expecting much as we were shown to the room. We were pleasantly surprised though. The room was at the rear of the building, good size, with a balcony overlooking the town and surrounding hills. There was a fridge, safe and flatscreen TV and a large and very comfy bed. All seemed very clean- the bed linen was crisp and obviously newly laundered. The bathroom had a walk in shower with good flow and constant hot water.

Breakfast was included and was Ethiopian buffet with toast and egg cooking station. There is a downstairs bar, popular with coffee drinking locals and upstairs terrace bar.

Desk staff spoke okay English and most were friendly and helpful. For 40USD per night we thought the room was good value for Gondar and we booked again when we returned from the Simien mountains. We were given the same room and again enjoyed a 2 night stay.

In summary, for Ethiopia it’s a very good standard hotel. If you prefer to be in the centre rather than stuck in the hills with the tour groups I can recommend AG Hotel.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews