We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forrest Secret Grotto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lifou Island

Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Lifou
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Forrest Secret Grotto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

An amazing walk through like the forest, down to the cave with the beautiful Grotto, that you can swim in under torch light or just take the walk and watch others dive in. Could be a difficult walk if your elderly or in need of some help as quite rocky and steep.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Taza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    164
    49
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lifou - if you can only visit one Loyalty Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Lifou is a chilled out place. Not much going on for sure but lovely beaches, azure water views, great snorkelling and some pristine dive spots. Dinner at Drehu and lunch at the Poulet Roti take away place near the Korail supermarket is worth a quick pit stop. Dive with Wetr/Lifou divers near Easo - they will look after you.

Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique, very beautiful, tropical and friendly. Perfect sea if snorkeling, swimming etc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

THIS IS NOT A CITY, NOT EVEN A VILLAGE really. Take your swimmers, snorkel, reef shoes & a towel. Also, some local currency, Pacific Francs. I'd love to go again with a younger accomplice!

The first thing I saw after stepping onto the Jetty was turtles and snorkelers all nearby in the water. The water and surrounds were spectacular and tropical, lush as only such places can be.

We arrived on a P & O Cruise in the rain which delayed our disembarking but it was worth the wait and well worth making the effort, in fact I wish I'd got on the Island in the rain to enjoy more of what it had to offer for longer. A cutter (lifeboat) must ferry you to shore. Next time I will go out of cyclone season!

It's fairly primitive, many natives still living in grass huts. However, if you need them there are toilets near where you arrive, they weren't clean as at home but better than Noumea! A unique adventure laden trip through unspoilt areas was what I wanted and pretty much what you can see. You could get a massage on the grassy bank, have your hair braided (corn braids, not the the faint hearted, very tight and may cause headaches).

Took a P & O Tour to Vanilla House and their plantation, simple tour but quite interesting for the most part; accessible and easy for my 80+ Mum to manage comfortably, the hardest part was getting her into the back of the small bus, a front seat will be requested next time. We tried a lovey Vanilla Liquour, there were local fruit pieces and cake to try if you were interested. The perfect Vanilla Pods were meticulously clean, commercially packaged and allowed in by customs after close inspection - wish I'd bought more! Lovely, happy, delightful people.

Didn't barter with them even though I know they would be hiking up the price for tourists, we are millionaires compared to them economically and I think lightning should strike you down if you want to take advantage of these delightful people; perhaps they are the more successful, they are happy, singing, contented and beautiful in their ways. I didn't hear a single child cry or say "I'm bored"! And DON'T take some bread, you aren't supposed to be taking things like that ashore. Ask the locals for some!!!

Our early tour was cancelled due to the torrential rain. We missed the local tour including forest & grotto. All these tours can be booked through your cruise line or you can choose to pay the locals yourself and perhaps barter a better price if that is your priority. Personally this was a chance for someone else to take care of things, I've done that every day of my life otherwise so it was a nice change.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good snokelling at Lifou, Loyalty Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Arrived on a cruise ship and found Lifou, Loyalty Island to be very pretty. Took a 45 minute tour around island but not that impressed. Others I spoke to said another longer tour was much better so search for what you get on the tour.
My suggestion would be to forget the bus tours and head up the made road, turn right at the top of the hill, walk about 400 metres and turn right to head for a great spot to snorkel. Wooden steps into/out of water. Lots of colourful fish but also some very impressive coral formations with an abundance of colours. Suggest you take a piece of bread or roll and feed the fish. They come from everywhere but beware they don't mistake parts of you for the bread.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rivets1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best snorkelling - shallow, safe and colourful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Lifou was not signposted and straightforward like some of the ports on our cruise. There seemed to be only 1-2 little spots to grab snorkel gear with the going rate $15 AUD oer day for hire. We took our own masks and snorkels (a bit yucky to hire these, hygiene wise) and hired flippers for $5 pp. Jinek Bay is the best snorkelling spot - walk straight uphill up the road from where the tender boats dock and then left for about 10 minutes. There is a substantial reef right off the land, with secure wooden steps right down into the water. Great range of colourful coral and fish and a lovely morning out. Start early if you can so it's not too hot and wear a shirt in the water - goodness the sun can burn

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank Julesgoesglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lifou Island also viewed

 
Lifou, Loyalty Islands
Lifou, Loyalty Islands
 

Been to Lifou Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing