We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice option for a resting place in Leticia.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Decameron Decalodge Ticuna
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leticia
Certificate of Excellence
Peach Bottom, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice option for a resting place in Leticia.”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I found the staff to be very friendly, including the front desk, custodial, and dining staff. My room was very large and the shower felt amazing after staying farther up river and not having a shower for a couple days. The hotel is All Inclusive and is a nice, small property. It offers a swimming pool, an educational community center, and massages are available. It is very easy to get to from the port. A good place to spend a night or two before or after visiting Leticia. Probably the hotel that is the most modern and comfortable (by American standards) in the area. I would definitely stay here if visiting the area again.

Room Tip: All rooms are off the main area, around the swimming pool. Very noisy when there are a group of sch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdgirlnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    69
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
76
65
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel is small but very welcoming. The rooms are very nice and well decorated, the food is good but there are not too many options to choose and one could certainly expect more variety at a hotel in Leticia. Few shows and a local hero who works at the hotel are the only attractions, but the hotel offers some tours, some free (not recommended), the others must be paid. Reserach very well about the activities you have planned, you might find better prices for the same tours with local agencies. The pool is great, very relaxing to end a day of adventure, althought you will have to face mosquitoes after 6 o'clock. It is, however, a very nice place to come to after visiting the parks and towns the Amazon has to offer for a tourist.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The hotel experience was great. My room was huge, the bed was comfortable, and the A/C worked wonders to remove the steam bath temperature of all the day trips I did. Water pressure in the shower was fantastic. Entry to room had a hammock lounging area which I took full advantage of.

The grounds were pretty, and you'll find turtles in the swamps by the restaurant. They had a shaman experience in the back lodge which was interesting. There was also a good Brazilian dance presentation my last night there.

I did not like being branded with the obvious tourist mark of shame...that being the orange bracelet they make you wear. But that's their policy. One other negative was that the internet never worked, and it is difficult to find wi-fi in Leticia.

I believe all stays here include breakfast and dinners. Food quality and variation was excellent, with multiple blended fresh fruit smoothies available. Dinners had to be booked with the restaurant line and were a la carte.

I had a problem with the Decameron Explorer (the tour sister business of the hotel), serious enough to make me cancel all the tours I'd booked with them. While the employees there ultimately responded to my satisfaction, I'd like to remind anyone thinking of staying here that there are other options available for tours (two alternate tour offices are about 5 buildings down as you exit the hotel and head left).

Check out the fruit and fish market within a block of the hotel. Another 5 minutes down the road are the docks to most of the tours via boat that you'll probably be doing.

Room Tip: The rooms all seemed the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdjimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The Decameron Ticuna is a fine hotel. The heart-shaped pool and large spacious rooms are probably my favorite aspects of the establishment. The TVs need an upgrade, but the rooms are air-conditioned, critter free, adequately appointed and clean. I recommend staying in a larger double-room, which is cabin-like, towards the back of the property. From the advertising, you might expect a resort set-aside from the town. The Ticuna is right on town, off one of the major streets, although it's laid-out like a beach resort. The grounds are neatly kept and you might see a bat or two at night. Unfortunately, next door is a large billard-table music hall, which is noisy; but we slept like babies after a full day of activities.

The stay includes breakfast and dinner, both of which are fine, but nothing terribly special. The chicken and fish dishes are best. The food prepared a la carte is better than the all-inclusive menu. I highly recommend the natural fruit juices and the caipirosca. The last review was definitely read by the management; the service was quite attentive and courteous throughout the visit. In the dining area, you might also meet Kapax, the Colombian version of Tarzan. Do invite him to sit and chat; he's done a great deal to raise awareness about the ecological importance of preserving the Amazon's habitats.

The day-trips are well worth it, even if they typically involve the usual tourist traps. The opportunity for a boat ride down the Amazon is simply awesome--in the classic sense of the term. The monkey "micos" island trip was a ton of fun, although the boat ride to Puerto Narino was a good introduction to the area and available sites to see on smaller trips. Zip-lining at Mico Island is a must.

The hotel also offers a talk by indigenous residents of the city on MWFs, which while somewhat staged, are quite instructive, especially during the answer-question-period.

Colombians staying at the hotel did not tip, but I recommend doing so--the staff greatly appreciate it at the hotel and on the day-trips.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank opera101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I recently went to Leticia and stayed at another hotel. But my parents who are older are coming to visit so I wanted to check out the Decameron. It's lovely. My friends and I decided to try the restaurant. The service was bad - inept and unfriendly. The words please, thank you and sorry never dropped from the lips of our waitress or the busboy. Not even when an order was messed up. We had planned to get more wine, dessert and coffee, but after being ignored/forgotten, we were ready to go. And the food - well they may have a nice menu but they don't know how to prepare anything on it. Everything was overcooked and smothered in sauce. My salad was drowning in dressing and cheese.

All three of us have been waitresses in the past, so one of my traveling companions thought it would be good to let management know about the poor service. She was not rude or angry, and her Spanish is very good. The person at the desk told her that the staff didn't pay as much attention to us because we were not as important as the people staying at the hotel.

I then informed them that I had come that night to check out the hotel because I had been thinking of bringing my parents and they had just lost my business.

So, if you go and stay - you might get good service (if you're important enough) but the food will still be overcooked and smothered in sauce.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mingknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leticia hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Amazon Bed & Breakfast
2.1 km away
Kurupira Floating Cabin Amazonas
0.2 km away
Hotel Anaconda
Hotel Anaconda
#4 of 7 in Leticia
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Utuane
Hotel Utuane
#6 of 7 in Leticia
47 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Pirarucu
Hotel Pirarucu
#5 of 7 in Leticia
162 reviews
12.4 km away
On Vacation Amazon
On Vacation Amazon
#5 of 51 in Leticia
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Decalodge Ticuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Decalodge Ticuna

Property: Decameron Decalodge Ticuna
Address: Cra 11 No. 6-11, Leticia, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Amazonas Department > Leticia
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leticia
Price range (per night): $194 - $348
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Decalodge Ticuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Decameron Decalodge Ticuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Decalodge Ticuna Hotel Leticia
Decameron Decalodge Ticuna Leticia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing