We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for one night”
Review of Hotel Avenida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uyuni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Avenida
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Uyuni
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My partner and I spent 1 night at Hotel Avenida in May 2012. Don't be mistaken by the name "hotel", it isn't. We ended up staying here because we came across it after a long night-bus from La Paz. We figured it was only one night, so we would cope, and we didn't expect much for the price.

We paid 60 Bolivianos for a twin room (big beds), with a shared bathroom - a very good price. The room was very very basic, and cold. As the beds were more like doubles than singles, we shared a bed and put all the blankets on one (about 7 blankets!), which kept us warm.

The bathrooms were basic, with no toilet paper, but the shower was surprisingly hot. Although, as the floor tiles were so cold, you soon cool down.

No wi-fi or breakfast, which seems to be the common trend in Uyuni. Walking distance to everything, including bus station.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avenida
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed for one night after returning from a 4 day Uyuni tour so just needed somewhere to crash for the night. The room was a good size, hot shower and was in a quiet enough area, you can't really ask for much more for 100 bolivianos a night. No breakfast or wifi (none of the hotels seem to have wifi in Uyuni), but the owner was helpful when we asked about buses to Potosi and gave us directions to the bus station and which companies were good.

The room was cold, but it was July in Bolivia so we expected it to be. Once we had our sleeping bag and the blankets, we were warm enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Right across from the train station, reasonable, and gets the job done. Beds come with multiple blankets and the rooms have multiple ports to charge you cameras before heading to the Salar. It's a small town, so location doesn't matter too much, but the hotel is right next to where the jeeps leave from in the morning. Check-in is a breeze, and staff will rent a towel for you to use in the public showers (no waiting needed). This is a good no-frills place to stay and you will get a good night of sleep here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Adequate hotel for one night. Electric hot showers are OK but don't have much pressure. Good location near the main boulevard in town, walking distance to bus station.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSWorldAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Average is quite high but I have to take into account the location, altitude, etc. The rooms are clean and basic. The showers are hot (provided not so many people have it used before you). The location is good, just 1 block from the centre of the town. No breakfast, no laundry, no internet. The rooms get SO cold during the night (no heating). The owners are not that friendly. It is a really good price though especially if you leave the next day. :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly_Mackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
0.6 km away
Reina del Salar
Reina del Salar
#4 of 18 in Uyuni
57 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostal Quinua Dorada
Hostal Quinua Dorada
#2 of 23 in Uyuni
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hostal La Magia de Uyuni
0.0 km away
Hostal "Oro Blanco"
Hostal "Oro Blanco"
#13 of 23 in Uyuni
148 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Jumari
Hotel Jumari
#2 of 18 in Uyuni
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Uyuni

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Av. Ferroviaria 11, Uyuni, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Uyuni
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing