We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
6
5
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
5
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2015

It was winter and there was no room heater. Captains flat is very cold during winter and imagine your night without a heater, hot water, broken shower, kitchen. Toilet does not flush.

And its dirty.

Food is hard to find as no shops around. You may have to fast if you fail to arrive early or bring food along.

Expensive as well.

NO NETWORK coverage except Telstra.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
6  Thank Mohammed Delwar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went to this Hotel for work and found the accommodation to be Clean and tidy, could do with a bit of an upgrade to the rooms furniture.
But the overall stay was very frendly and great staff.
best regards

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a group of 8 (4 couples) and originally booked this weekend with Tony & Vicki in Feb this year but it changed hands about 3 months before our stay. Michael & Jackie who are the new owners brother & sister in law now run the hotel with Garry the owner coming in from Friday to Sunday. We paid $220 per couple for the 2 nights which included B&B and a 2 course dinner on Saturday night (which is what had been organised with Tony & Vicki and honoured by Garry). We received a bottle of red and a bottle of white to enjoy with our meal on Saturday night and both wines were lovely. They are now supplying bistro meals as well. It will be interesting to see if Garry, Jackie & Michael's plans can be achieved. They have taken on running the Post Office from the hotel, to the detriment of a dining room, and plan on taking on a General Store area as well.It is a lovely old pub with potential and it would be sad to see it's potential not reached. One of the things some of our group had trouble with was the lack of welcome and enthusiasm they received on arrival and during their stay. I have to agree with the other reviewer that this is more for pub patrons rather than travelling overnighters.....at the moment anyway. It remains to be seen if this changes over time under the new management.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I thank TripAdvisor for listing this hotel following my request in June 2012.
Having had an opportunity of being shown around this establishment by its new owners Vicky and Tony Holland in April 2012, I decided to find out specifically how it would be like to stay there for a night. Hence, my wife and I booked in for the 26 May 2012. Our double room (without en suite) on the first floor was just adequate in size. We certainly did miss a wardrobe or a hanging space to put up clothing. The bed was reasonable comfortable and we slept well without interruptions from noises inside or out. The bathroom was located close by on the same level.
To date, the interior of the Flat Hotel has been partly re-decorated, and there is great potential to transform this 1937 building again to some of its former splendour. At present, however, its best described as 'work in progress'. The hotel has a total of 17 rooms, comprising of Singles (AUD $68.00), Twins and Queens (AUD $83.00 respectively), and Family Triple (AUD $103). Visitors should note that the hotel is only open at certain times (see http://www.flathotel.com.au) for details.
As for meals, the Flat provides a variety of food, typically known as ‘pub grub’. Although we did have dinner there, we opted to have breakfast in the Outsider Café opposite (see separate review). At the time of our stay, we were the only guests. This provided ample opportunity to chat to Vicky and Tony about their plans for the hotel’s future. All up we aid around AUD 120.00 for the room and the food and drinks consumed the previous night. In summary, the Flat Hotel at present, is definitely more geared for pub patrons than hotel guests. I don’t mind coming back for a drink but would skip staying overnight. It may be worthwhile reviewing this establishment again in a couple of years.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thilo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews