We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsanitary Oversights”
Review of Red Apple Inn

Red Apple Inn
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Heber Springs
Price range: USD 8 - USD 38
Cuisines: American
Description: We are a full service restaurant serving an eclectic mix of American and some ethnic foods. The restaurant overlooks beautiful Greers Ferry Lake. We also have a separate menu for the bar.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a full service restaurant serving an eclectic mix of American and some ethnic foods. The restaurant overlooks beautiful Greers Ferry Lake. We also have a separate menu for the bar.
Reviewed 6 August 2018

TLDR: There are few times I feel the need to gag at the dinner table, but being served half-eaten baked potato toppings did me in. Oh, and the hair in the previously served cheese soufflé was also reflux inducing.

Our family of 8 went to the restaurant at the Red Apple Inn on Saturday night. We arrived with no expectations. Upon seating, our waitress asked if we were members. We are not and told her so. She said this meant we could not have anything to drink besides the previously poured iced waters. We thought she was joking. She wasn't. Red flag, right?

The entire dinner we were left scratching our heads esp considering the random raw veggies and balls of butter. However, these naïve attempts to be "fancy" were easily overlooked. As stated, we weren't expecting much.

But never in my entire life have I been given previously served toppings or items taken directly from other tables to be re-served. I ordered a baked potato with my salmon. Others at my table also ordered baked potatoes. When they received it they were also given a plate with multiple plastic cups full of toppings used to "load" their potato. I wasn't given one of these plates, so politely asked if I could also have one. Not only were we charged $2 per plate of toppings (do you eat a baked potato with literally nothing on it?), but when she brought my plate...the items were clearly USED. I'm not kidding. The butter cup was emptied and the sour cream cup featured steak knife marks and was empty except for the residual sour cream clinging to the cup's edge. Clearly, these came from someone else's table and they did not resemble what the others at my table received.

The pork chops were overcooked except for the centers and parts near the bone, which were visibly still raw. Regardless, all nearly inedible.

Only some of those at our table were offered salads, yet we saw another large group all be offered and served side salads.

We then saw another table being offered a cheese soufflé with their bread service. We were curious and surprised to find this item was free of charge, so naturally we requested one. My stomach churned as I watched the cheese soufflé previously given to the table to our right be taken and placed on our table. Same spoon and all. There was also an unidentifiable hair in the soufflé.

If this experience had been cheap, I could laugh this off, but the only laughing we have done is in utter bewilderment. Our bill was nearly $300, and tip was automatically included.

In conclusion, I personally suggest you go somewhere else where the price more closely matches the service and food you're paying for.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redappleinngm, General Manager at Red Apple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Normally we take all reviews seriously and would apologize and correct the issues a guest experiences. Unfortunately, Almost everything you complained about is something we don't believe happened at the Inn and have to question why you didn't ask to see a manager if all these outrageous things happened. You were asked if you were a member or staying with us because we are in a dry county. If you weren't either of those type guests, then you aren't allowed to purchase alcohol, but the hostess would not say you could only have water. We offer a multitude of non-alcoholic beverages. The crudite plate is just that. An offering of radish, onion, celery and carrots. If the people with you received extra toppings with their potato, it was because they ordered their potato "loaded" ($2 for 5 items to put on your potato). If you ordered the same and didn't receive, you should have asked your waitress. You should have received butter and sour cream. A waitress would never bring you an empty butter cup and empty used sour cream cup nor would she re-use one from another table. If you asked for butter and sour cream, do you think the waitress would really bring you two empty cups? We are sure you didn't see her move these items from one table to yours and all items such as these are immediately dumped when brought back to the kitchen. Every guest is offered a dinner salad if they order a full entree. If you ordered something besides a full entree, you would not have been offered a dinner salad. We have served a souffle with dinner for over fifty years. We serve a spoon of the casserole as a little extra for your meal. We do not make a casserole for every table. It is served family style, but the spoon is strictly used for serving and not eating. We always strive to provide the best food and service possible at the Inn. You can see from previous reviews, what you say happened doesn't make sense nor does it fit with the rest of the reviews. If you would like to discuss this in greater detail, please reach out to us at info@redappleinn.com or call 800-733-1775.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

This is purported to be a fine dining experience. The menu is adequate if not extensive with beef, pork, and seafood. My first requirement is excellent bread. The site made yeast rolls 'came straight out of the oven', however they were not warm, and the texture was that of dough allowed to rise too much, consequently no yeasty flavor. In fact, no flavor at all, guessing no salt. The salads were merely mixed lettuce (missing mucrogreens that add flavor), one small diced piece of yellow pepper, one cucumber slice, and croutons. The Parmesan peppercorn dressing was tasty, just not enough to salvage this 'salad'. One diner's salmon was a generous portion, well-cooked so moist and flaky with a small amount of a nice cream-based sauce with 2-3 broken shrimp pieces. It came with wonderful garlicky mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus that required a knife to cut. I ordered a Raspberry Chicken as the Pork Chop option wasn't available. (For Friday night dinner, really? And it was 6:00!) I expected a savory dish and got a fan-sliced boneless ckn breast with a sweet raspberry balsamic sauce, the consistency of syrup. It was served over unadorned pasta (al dente) with minute and far too few bits of green onion - not enough to cut the cloying sweetness of the dish. I suggest they check out geniuskitchen.com for a recipe worthy of the menu. It uses onion, chicken broth, raspberry vinegar etc. and cautions against overdoing the small amt. of raspberry jam. Anything would be an improvement over this one-dimensional entree. A FABulous corn soufflé was offered to sample and it was everything a soufflé should be: beautiful custard and silky taste w/o obscuring the corn flavor. We liked that a small sampling of crudités was brought to the table while we waited for service. The strawberry shortcake was a shareable portion of perfectly ripe, sliced berries and real whipped cream with a passable shortcake cookie. Service was evenly paced, attentive and courteous. Lots of gaps in this lovely venue with a lake view.

1  Thank K. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redappleinngm, General Manager at Red Apple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thank you for letting us know of your recent dining experience. We do make our rolls in house and use salted butter and salt. Your dinner salad is a free salad with the meal and consists of spring mix and a few toppings. We do offer a large assortment of salads you may purchase as an appetizer or entree. We are glad you enjoyed the Salmon special. Our pork chops are a specialty item coming from a small farming operation raising the Duroc heritage breed of pork. Consequently, they aren't always able to fill orders from customers such as the Red Apple and that was the reason we were out this weekend. The Raspberry Chicken has been a staple and favorite of the owners since they purchased the Inn 22 years ago. Club members and guests usually love the dish and any attempt we have made in the past to alter or temporarily remove the dish has been met with numerous complaints. We are sorry it wasn't to your liking. Hopefully you will give us another try and find other dishes more to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Secluded. Nice. Good food. Nice workout room. Had to wait for our rooms this time... but, usually they are ready when we are ready to check in.

Thank karleensheets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

This place has been around a long time and serves mostly members the setting is nice actually very nice but the restaurant itself is beginning to show some sign of real wear a little love would go along way. The menu has been upgraded some but still could kick it just a little. The experience however was not a disappointment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoark1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redappleinngm, General Manager at Red Apple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for letting us hear of your recent experience. We have been in the process of a three year renovation of all of our property. From the Inn rooms, Conference Center, pool, public bathrooms and more. The renovation continues with several projects in the works. As you can see from our past reviews, we generally get high marks for our food. We change the menu at least 3-4 times a year and will be changing it this coming week. The bar menu changes even more frequently and has a more casual assortment that appeals to the younger tastes or more adventurous tastes. We are glad your visit wasn't a disappointment and hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

We ate at the Red Apple Inn for a business meal. The food was excellent, the price was right, and the view was amazing. The wait staff was wonderful and the grounds are beautiful.

Thank linettekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redappleinngm, General Manager at Red Apple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for letting us know of your great experience at the Inn. We try to create memories and looks like we succeeded. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Apple Inn also viewed

 

Been to Red Apple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing