We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - stayed twice!”
Review of Posada Casa Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Casa Sol
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2015

We arrived in the pouring rain and were shown to our room which was just across the courtyard and very comfortable. The best shower yet in this country with lots of hot water and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was a bit slow and we had some language difficulties but when we finally ordered it was delicious and plentiful. There is tea and coffee freely available all day. The hotel does not do dinner but there are plenty of places nearby to eat. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. We were back in the same hotel two days later and the staff remembered us and our breakfast which was just as good and delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2015

This place is very nice. It has everything from funky artworks on the walls, to pet turtles and fish in the lobby.
Really nice breakfast options, good Venezuelan coffee
Friendly staff: helped with taxis.
clean, comfy beds.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I visited Merida as part of 2week trip to Venezuela and I stayed at the posada Casa Sol. The posada was just magnificent. The patios were so beautiful decorated and the rooms were spacious and cleans. The breakfast at the hotel was a unique experience. You could order from different breakfasts (criollo, panquecas etc) and also add some extras at a very low price. The staff so excellent, very polite and very helpful with everything. They can also give you tips on what to do or where to go by night. I would definitely recommended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELENI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

This is not a 5 star hotel, nor does it set out to be. It is what it is, an excellent B&B. Owned and run personally by a German lady.

We had a garden room at the back of the building that we were quite happy with. Some of the rooms do not have windows (ours did), so if that is an issue, then you need to specify a window when booking.

The rooms are not big, nor overly luxurious, but they do have things like hot water (somewhat of a rarity in Venezuela). There is a ceiling fan, which takes a bit of sorting to turn on and off.

There are paintings and some quirky sculptures scattered round the place. These add to the relaxed charm of the posada.

There is wifi, but you have to be quite close to the reception desk to pick it up. And there is a free to use computer in the reception area too.

We were with 4 other (i.e. a group of 6) and were dropped off and picked up, so I cannot comment on either the position or the safety of the surrounding streets. Remember it is a B&B , so you cannot get an evening meal

It is one of those places that is distinctive and memorable, so you will be able to look back on your stay here, when other hotels have faded from memory

I recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

So quirky with art to look at at every turn, this is a wonder oasis in Merida. My room was small but others are larger. The duvet was divine but wished I could have found how to turn the overhead fan off. The showers had loads of hot water which we had missed in other places. Free tea and coffee was welcome in the entrance hallway. The garden is delightful to sit under the avocado tree and have a drink. Breakfast a very european affair with ham and cheese but a a welcome change. So much food though sets you up for the day.
All the staff were lovely and the owner felt like a friend after a very short time. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a little balcony, it will be larger. However the outside garden will be make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merida
0.0 km away
Mon Cricket Hotel
Mon Cricket Hotel
#4 of 4 in San Cristobal
17 reviews
0.0 km away
Luna Azul
Luna Azul
#21 of 30 in Merida
20 reviews
7415.3 km away
El Serrano
El Serrano
#25 of 56 in Merida
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Casa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Casa Sol

Address: Avenida 4 Entre Calles 15-16, Merida 5101, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Andean Region > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: $78 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Casa Sol situated on the historic "Calle del Sol", in the central district of Merida. Our Posada is a beautiful colonial style home with patios and corridors that have been constructed using local architectural design and contemporary elements that offer the comfort and well-being that our guests deserve. All of our spaces offer the tranquility of a mountain lodge in the heart of the city, just a few blocks from the Plaza Bolivar. For the duration of you stay, you can count on our personal care and attention. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Casa Sol Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing