We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
255
34
4
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
34
4
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

It is in a street within walking distance of a couple of nice restaurants - it is based round a pretty courtyard and has a small garden. Our room was a lovely room with a balcony but l am afraid that we found the double bed too small (most of them are small doubles in Venzuala) and then moved to a tiny bedroom with twin beds with the window overlooking the street which was a bit noisy (not helped by the fireworks that are let off all night long in January). The breakfasts were different but good and l would suggest having the eggs scrambled or an omelet. Not much English spoken except by the owner but it was a pleasant place to stay in a safe area.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank fido0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We spent 2 nights and returned for a third night, a week later. It is a relaxing place to stay after a day out and about in Merida. It is in the top of the City within walking distance of downtown. We felt safe in the evening walking to restaurants. The staff is more than helpful and the rooms are clean and bright with small balconies to sit and relax overlooking a small garden with many birds and flora. The beds are firm and comfortable, the lobby offers internet, some jewelry and art work and seating area to just relax. I would return in a N.Y. Minute.

Room Tip: The suite is not really a suite, just a large room with seating area, for 2 persons. East facing rooms, (Street side) are a bit noisy as there is a motorcycle shop next door, but quiet in the evening.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezrider926_178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This place is every bit as good as most of the previous reviews claim. It is truly a little gem: clean, peaceful and tastefully decorated. It is a little haven of peace in a hectic country and it was always a pleasure to return to the place after being out and about for the day. Good Wi-Fi, cable TV and a pretty little interior courtyard with a fountain, perfect for sitting and reading in peace. The staffs are extremely helpful and friendly; I stayed for a few days and most got to know me by name. The breakfast is always fresh, with homemade arepas, local cheeses, eggs, coffee and fresh fruit juice. The lady who runs the kitchen also makes delicious omelettes if you ask. I have been to many B&Bs over the years and this is one of the best I have been to anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascallu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at Casa Sol as an overnight on the way to do some hiking in the Sierra dela Culatas. The overall experience was excellent. The Posada had everything you needed for a good over night and the art, garden and bright colours added to the pleasure of the stay and distinguishes above other posadas in the area. We had a very tasty and filling breakfast out in the garden. The staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly those who also do guide trips. The Posada was well situated. Was a real pleasure to stay at Casa Sol.

Room Tip: There are two levels of rooms to choose from. If people staying on the second floor aren't mindful of others on the ground level it could get noisy. The rooms on the second floor have a nice view of the garden. The rooms on the ground floor have a little sitting area in the garden.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowbootsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here in March for a few days. Pretty building and interesting artwork but way too over-priced and the area was noisy at nights. There were a couple of other places up the hill that offered a better deal (without the artwork but I can always go to a free gallery!!!!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews