We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
28
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water in town repetitive disconnected chickens horses bungalow noise ocean tours island airport
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018

The Lemu Lodge is a tranquil and beautiful eco lodge on easter island. We were picked up at the airport by Marianna, Marco and Juan Pablo. After an uncomplicated check in process and briefing about the concept and facilities we were ready to explore the island. As the lemu lodge is a 10 minute drive from Hanga Roa we would recommend to rent a car. All major sights are only a short drive away. The luxurious tent style apartments are clean and very well maintained. As the Lodge as an environmental friendly concept a generator will be the turned on In the mornings and you will have hot water to shower. They mostly use rainwater and buy extra water from the town. We booked half board and had lunch in the evenings. We can more than recommend as Marco is an excellent chef. The food had restaurant style quality and the fish was fresher than fresh. Marianna was an excellent host and gave as a lot of valuable tips for our excursions We really enjoyed the stay at Lemu Lodge and can fully recommend to other guests.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sascha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrcandia, Propietario at Lemu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sascha, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us!! we appreciate your comments, hosting you was a pleasure to us as well. all the best. JR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

A short disclaimer - it's important to compare a few aspects when writing a review, such as price/quality ratio overall and when compared to other locations on that island, advertisement vs reality, and so on.

Overall picture: Isolated (key word here), beautiful, quiet, friendly place nestled in full view of the ocean, surrounded by nothing but nature. It can be an immersive, amazing experience, but not for everyone.

The good: isolation - if you're like us, living in the noise of a big city, this place is the exact opposite, the only sounds there are cows, horses, crickets and the roar of the ocean battering the shore. No artificial light means you can open your bungalow door at night and gasp in awe at the night sky.
- staff and owner: Mariana, Carlos, Juan Pablo and the great Hue Rapu (hope I remember this right) were all super friendly, communicative, helpful in every way they could. Mariana and Carlos picked us up at the airport, and Carlos drove us back there at the end if our stay. Mariana was also an everyday presence and kind enough to answer the barrage of questions we launched at her in the first few days. Juan Pablo rented out his two mountain bikes, very useful for short trips around the lodge. Hue Rapu (owner of the land, farm, lodge) took us on a wonderful 6 hour horse-riding adventure to the highest point on the island and back, sharing stories and jokes.
- bungalow: clean, comfortable, modern (by island standards), with large windows. Very comfortable bed! bathroom had a wicked design for the washbasin, stone slabs to step on under the shower.
- the pancakes: someone knows how to make pancakes there, delicious!

the bad: be warned that this is in every way an isolated, disconnected, technology free place. Meaning some things that we take for granted just don't apply there. Some are obvious negatives, some are just negatives if you're not fully informed about the place.
- wi-fi and general connectivity: close to non-existent. Wi-fi sometimes works at speeds less than a dial-up modem would have, but only in the common area of the main lodge. Phone connectivity only works in one specific spot outside in the garden. Again, we didn't come there to be on Instagram, but send your whatsapp messages before going there.
- shower pressure and temperature: this is a real downside after a few days. You just can't have a decent shower, the pressure is trickling at best, temperature varies wildly, but is mostly close to freezing.
- hairdryer, or lack of: since the water is mostly cold, and we went there is what must have been winter, temperatures at night were very VERY low, while the wind made it much worse, hence a hairdryer was a must. But the lodge didn't have one. This kind of info would be nice to know beforehand, we would have brought our own. For 300 USD a night, you expect a hairdryer.
- lack of shuttle service to and from town: just a thought, but since the lodge is far from town, make to mistake, you won't walk to town more than once, a at least once a day shuttle service could have been provided.

I won't comment on the breakfast - it got repetitive, but then again we did stay 7 nights, so it can't be easy to vary what food they either grow locally or buy from the market.

We tried the lunch once - something around 30-40 USD per person, don't recommend it. It was good and well cooked, but all the other places we tried in town were better and slightly cheaper.

Price: 300 USD a night, 250 USD during low season I would say. That's a lot, I mean for 300 USD a night you can book a 5 star hotel in remote places such as Ushuaia or Puerto Natales or El Calafate, BUT - everything on that island is super expensive, so taking that into account, and comparing other offers on the island, the price was worth it.

Room Tip: book ocean view bungalow!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrcandia, Propietario at Lemu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dan, first of all thank you for choosing us for your stay in magic Rapa Nui! we also appreciate your honest and detailed feedback, this help us to improve every day, as our main objective is that our visitors can have a once in a life time experience at Lemu Lodge Vaihu. We will take your comments for our continious improvement. Thank you again and our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

My husband picked this place for our 2nd and 3rd nights in Rapa Nui as it was a 1.5-2 hour hike from our first night hotel on our first full day, and... WOW.

Okay, so we ended up renting bikes, not hiking so the ride was shorter, but coasting down the hill to find Lemu Lodge was the highlight of my day. The property entrance is through a field, which at the time had cattle and horses grazing. I love animals, so this was a wonderful treat. Chickens clucking, the horses judging and the cows... well, you had me at moo (so to speak).

Check in greeted us with a delicious glass of fresh juice and a snack of savory treats grown on the farm.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the property is 100% sustainable on solar power, which is awesome - travlers be mindful of shower hot water times :) - if you forget, no worries, the outdoor shower was refreshing at room temp.

THE BEST PART - THE FOOD. Note: I am still thing about my lunch yesterday. All fresh local ingredients and everything homemade. The salmon on our first night was the best we have had! The pasta yesterday was simple, delicious and know I will be telling stories of it for many years.

This place was wonderful and I would try the morning yoga and horseback riding next time... it is worth coming back to.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zp459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrcandia, Propietario at Lemu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear friend, we thank you for your comments, we are glad you chose us for your Rapa Nui experience and certainly most welcome any time! all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Viajamos en pareja a Isla de Pascua a fines de abril de 2018, estuvimos 4 días alojando en este maravilloso lodge. Ubicado en las afueras del pueblo a menos de 10 minutos en auto. Ambiente familiar, las cabañas amplias y cómodas. Tuvimos un desperfecto con el agua caliente que una vez reportado fuimos cambiados sin mayores problemas. Ideal para descansar, desconectarse y disfrutar de los paisajes únicos en medio del océano pacifico.

El Staff muy amable y siempre dispuesto para brindar la mejor experiencia, te indicaban los mejores tips para que la estadia en la isla fuera lo más placentera e inolvidable, no manejan directamente tours pero cuentan con alianzas con empresas para poder realizar paseos guiados o de forma particular.

las cenas, un lujo tanto los sabores como su presentación, fuerte en pescados y mariscos, probar su cocina es algo que de todas formas se debe considerar.

Es totalmente recomendable considerar el arriendo de vehículo en cuanto llegues a la isla.

Sin lugar a dudas, un lugar para regresar.

We traveled as a couple to Easter Island at the end of April 2018, we stayed 4 days in this wonderful lodge. Located in the outskirts of the town less than 10 minutes by car. Family atmosphere, spacious and comfortable cabins. We had a flaw with the hot water that once reported we were changed without major problems. Ideal to rest, disconnect and enjoy the unique landscapes in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

The staff is very friendly and always ready to provide the best experience, they indicated the best tips so that the stay on the island was the most pleasant and unforgettable, do not directly manage tours but have partnerships with companies to conduct guided tours or particular.

the dinners, a luxury both the flavors and their presentation, strong in fish and seafood, try your kitchen is something that should be considered anyway.

It is highly advisable to consider the vehicle rental as soon as you arrive on the island.

Without a doubt, a place to return.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Avalospaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrcandia, Propietario at Lemu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear friends, thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Lemu Lodge Vaihu, our main objective is that our guests can have a once in a life time experience in Rapa Nui!! welcome to come back at any time. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We really enjoy the whole scenery, the friendly staff, the open ocean breaking down all day in front of us, natural swimmingpool just 10 mn away well protected from the waves, and of course all the special sites at Easter Island.

Room Tip: Sleep with windows open to get the wind and the sound from the open ocean
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank vroubinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrcandia, Propietario at Lemu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear friends, thank you for your comments! we were glad to host you and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews