We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rapa Nui Explora”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Easter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We spent 5 days there recently and thoroughly enjoyed everything, particularly the excursions, guides, room and food. There’s a good variety of excursions offered, catering to all abilities. Our room was lovely with a beautiful view. The food was excellent and service very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank carmentucker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExploraTeam, Director de Relaciones Públicas at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear traveler,

Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your experience in our hotel. We are happy to learn that our services met your expectations. Both living up to travelers’ expectations and surprising them are the directions in which we point our efforts.

We would be happy to greet you back in the near future or perhaps you could enjoy a new experience in explora Atacama. In your next trip with us, get up to a 10% discount in your reservation based on our benefit for former explora travelers.

Greetings,
explora Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018

The Service was exceptionally good. The guides were amazing and very informative. Rooms were very clean and big. Easter Island is a very beautiful and very exotic location to explore and try to envisage what happened over there

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ankit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExploraTeam, Director de Relaciones Públicas at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Ankit,
Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your experience in our hotel. We are happy to learn that our services met your expectations. Both living up to travelers’ expectations and surprising them are the directions in which we point our efforts.

We would be happy to greet you back in the near future or perhaps you could enjoy a new experience in explora Valle Sagrado. In your next trip with us, get up to a 10% discount in your reservation based on our benefit for former explora travelers.

Greetings,
explora Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

This hotel is a few minutes drive from Hanga Roa. A couple of staff members meet you at the airport, and you are driven to the hotel, together with any other arriving guests. After a very efficient check in, one of the staff takes you to your room (which is one of a row of rooms, set out in a couple of wings) and shows you all the amenities, controls etc. Our staff member also talked about how to tip, if we wanted to tip staff, and went to great pains to say this was purely voluntary. We appreciated that, as the whole tipping thing is a bit weird for us. The standard room is very comfortable, although we reorganised the furniture a bit so that we could each have our suitcases nearby. There is a washing line available over the bath, which we made good use of. I suspect that is a poor environmental outcome compared to a central laundry, but that's another story. Laundry prices are very high. I'll happily pay an expensive room rate for a good hotel but it does my head in to pay the price of a t-shirt, just to have it washed ! Rooms have both an overhead fan, and air conditioning, a safe, some shelving and hanging space for clothes, but no mini bar or tea/coffee making facilities.

The dining room is a long curved room, with further seating space in a covered but open air, space near the bar. We found that area a bit cold in November. Food was competent, and sometimes excellent. The menu is the same for lunch and dinner, so a bit limiting, especially for vegetarians. However, I found that the wait staff were very accommodating if you asked for a variation or if there might be something else in the kitchen. Keep an eye out for the small snacks placed on the bar near the guides work table. There was a variety of nuts and dried fruit, and sometimes mini chocolate bars, which you can take with you on excursions. Nobody told us about that - we found out a couple of days after arrival (we are not very observant !). The hotel does try to vary the dining options - there was a traditional meal baked underground, and traditional music, the night of our arrival, although the dining room menu was also available. On another day, guests met up at to have a barbecue picnic lunch near one of the main moai sites - tables, chairs, cutlery, wine, and tented pavilions to keep the sun off ! Very nice.

We didn't try the pool, finding the weather a little too cool for that. However, the spa area is very nice and we both had an excellent massage there one day. There is also a very good hotel shop, with clothing, books and crafts. The craftwork was excellent, and extremely expensive (particularly the beautiful carvings).

We stayed five nights and wished that we had a couple more. In fact, we were very surprised by the number of people who only come for three nights, and a bit sad when some of those were really only there to tick a box on their travel list. We enjoyed visiting the main moai sites - the moai quarry is particularly special. However, we also loved the opportunity to go for a bit of hiking. Less people seem to sign up for these, so it's especially nice when you get to go for a long hike/walk with just yourselves and a guide. Highly recommend the hike around the Poike peninsula, the hike up Teravaka and the walk from Poike to Anakena beach. These all only required moderate fitness, the biggest challenge being walking on uneven ground. It is possible to just go sightseeing in one of the minivans, but there is generally an optional adjunct to that, like a walk along a moai road, or visiting a couple of lesser sites before you hit the big one. They also usually give you a quick tour of the museum in town, and a couple of other things (eg shopping, or checking out the moais in town, or the church etc) on the morning of your departure. The guides were generally excellent and we had a fabulous time with all of them - but special mention to Teataero and Esteban, whose senses of humour on our hikes to Poike and along the north coast left us with some great memories.

I would say that the organisation of excursions requires further refinement. The process is to decide what you are doing the next day immediately after you get back in the evening. Firstly, you are generally tired, hungry and in great need of a shower. Secondly, this can be an agonising process if the people in your group for the day has highly varied needs or can't make up their mind. We got back at 7.00pm one night, and it took our guide a full, torturous hour to sort things/people out, by which time we were all losing the will to live. Similarly, on our last full day, we wanted to hang out in town for the morning as the museum would be closed the day we were leaving (Monday). We were told we would have a car to ourselves, as departing passengers would need to be back at the hotel by 11.30 to have a quick lunch before going to the airport. That didn't happen - we were placed with some departing passengers, all of whom had different interests to our own, and less time. The guide didn't keep a tight rein on time, so we all ended up unhappy with the time available for non-museum choices. In fairness, the hotel provided us with a taxi back to the hotel later, while three disappointed ladies went back for early lunch, in the van. My suggestion to the hotel would be to have the guide canvass your requests during the afternoon, sort things out with base via phone, and then just a QUICK confirmation when you return to the hotel. I would have given this hotel 5 stars, if the excursion planning process was more efficient. However, the staff are great, friendly and helpful, and the quality of the excursions is excellent. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Allcorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExploraTeam, Director de Relaciones Públicas at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear traveler,
I hope you had a pleasant return home. Thank you for sharing your experience during your time at explora Rapa Nui. It helps us to improve.

I’m happy to learn you loved your stay. However, I would like to apologize if you felt the organization of our explorations needs some adjustments. We are always working on improving each detail of the experience we offer and we are actually now focused on a specific technology to make this process better.

I would like to great you back or that you could enjoy the explora experience in some of our other destinations.

Kind Regards,

Francisco Covarrubias
Rapa Nui Manager
explora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

I know Explora Rap Nui is much more expensive than other options, but if you can afford, book it. The architecture is beautiful, the property serene, the food is superb, the guided tours are probably the best on the island and the personal service is top notch. I had a great trip.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank patricklB3817PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExploraTeam, Director de Relaciones Públicas at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear traveler,
Thank you for your favorable comment about your experience in explora Rapa Nui. We are happy to learn that you particularly enjoyed our explorations since they are our company’s main drivers. We make every effort to help our travelers deeply explore a destination like the one you just visited.

We would be happy to have you again or maybe in explora Patagonia, where you can also find us. The next time you visit us, you will be able to enjoy our deals for former travelers. Ask our reservation team about “The Explorer’s Benefit”.

Kindly,
explora Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We used it as a base for sightseeing, but returning for fabulous meals, and breaks at the pool and spa made it even more special. Rooms are great, and the staff is very responsive to needs. The grounds are stunning and the all inclusive nature of the pricing takes that concern off the table. We would definitely return, and it looked to be one of the most elegant resorts on the island based on our travels around the island for the ensuing several days. Our only complaint would be that restaurant service was sometimes a bit slow when you might want or need to get somewhere.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wndyctyfn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExploraTeam, Director de Relaciones Públicas at explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello traveler,
We hope you had a safe return home. We deeply thank you for taking the time to write this comment. It helps us to improve. We made our best to help you enjoy your stay and we are happy to learn that we succeeded.

We would be happy to have you back or for you to live the explora experience in some of our other destinations. In your next trip with us, get up to a 10% discount in your reservation based on our benefit for former explora travelers.

Sincerely,
explora Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Easter Island hotels
8.1 km away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
5.8 km away
Hotel Hare Boutik
Hotel Hare Boutik
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
262 reviews
7.2 km away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#4 of 16 in Hanga Roa
427 reviews
7.4 km away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
453 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Hotu Matua
Hotel Hotu Matua
#14 of 16 in Hanga Roa
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive

Address: Te Miro Oone S/N | S/n, Easter Island 2770000, Chile (Formerly explora Rapa Nui)
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Easter Island
Price Range: AU$1,265 - AU$2,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge was the first in South America to obtain LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the United States Green Building Council.Our lodge, which opened in December 2007, was built on 9.6 Hectares (23.7 Acres) of land situated on a hill in the Te Miro Oone area, and overlooks the ocean. This is in south-eastern Rapa Nui, 8 kilometers (4.9 Miles) from Hanga Roa, the most populated part of the island.All of the 30 rooms, which extend to the north and south from a central building, have excellent ocean views. The lodge has welcoming indoor spaces which integrate aspects of the local culture.The design is intended to have minimal impact on its surroundings. The lodge is built on a site which is inappropriate for agricultural use and has no archaeological remains. The flora surrounding the lodge has been maintained intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explora Rapa Nui - Posada De Mike Rapu Hotel Easter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing