We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Eighteen Cafe - Bar - Burger - CLOSED

Number Eighteen Cafe - Bar - Burger
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 25
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to the number eighteen website. We are located on the High Street in Crickhowell, situated in the beautiful surroundings of the Brecon Beacons National Park. We offer a range of hot and cold drinks, brilliant burgers, hot and cold food including our number eighteen favourites and some delicious home made treats. With the best coffee for miles, we're open during the day, every day of the week.
Weston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

A wonderful evening with professional courteous service, feeling very well looked after from the moment we arrived. The atmosphere was one of the nicest things: you could dress up as much or as little as you wished (most people arrive smart-casual) and it was tasteful without any 'snobbishness' The food was delicious, very well presented and not overpriced which can be a danger for most brasseries. If you are looking for a special romantic meal or somewhere for a celebration or simply just to spoil yourself, you must visit this restaurant.

Also note: Many visitors who have reviewed above make a visit during the day when Number 18 only opens its front 'Cafe' section. Visit in the evening to receive the full brasserie in the light airy upstairs restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gbijv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    73
    25
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Extremely tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

On arrival of Number 18 we were pleasantly greeted by our server and shown to a lovely table upstairs. As we were early, we happened to be the only ones there until almost the end of our meal, so it was lovely and quiet.
My mother and I weren't particularly hungry, just wanted something to tide us over before picking up the children, so each ordered a starter and two sides to share. The menu isn't particularly large but certainly looks appealing. Prices are steep but the meal was cooked perfectly. As I said we weren't particularly hungry, and this was a good thing as the portions aren't huge, especially the sides! However they were delicious. I probably wouldn't bring my father or partner here as they'd need two meals, it was plenty for us and would visit again next time I'm visiting home.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya9se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Unfortunately we arrived on Steak Night with 2 vegetarians, but the staff and chef were very helpful with offering vegetarian options so that we were all able to enjoy dinner. The decor is very interesting, somewhat modern, but very attractive.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bloomingtongirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
187 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best coffe in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

If you are in the Crickhowell area you must drop into Number 18 for a coffee and also one of their home-made scones with jam and cream - they are to die for!
If you want something more, then try their brasserie where they serve great value snacks and meals.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, U.K.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best toast and marmalade for miles!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I have visited Number 18 on numerous occasions - we must have averaged once a fortnight over the last year or so! We've sampled the coffee, cakes and soup and seen plenty of the other dishes on offer. However, distance and timing has prevented us from sampling their menu further OTHER THAN THE TEA AND TOAST.
The tea is much like any other - nicely served in individual teapots. The TOAST however is what brings us back time and time again. We go for the granary bread ( 2 LARGE slices cut from a proper loaf, not some sliced bread rubbish ), REAL butter served in slices/pats not wrapped in foil in tiny packets (can't stand 'spreads' and such like for something as special as this!) and last but not least the MARMALADE. Where DOES this marmalade come from? It's our favourite - individual dishes usually containing large strands of orange rind and tasting SO good....... I hope that they never change their supplier! After eating our two large slices of toast each there's no room for any other breakfast item and it's enough to keep us going for a few hours. Another good thing about Number 18 is that they serve this toast ALL DAY!
Go there and sample this simple culinary delight before they decide that it's off the menu due to over-demand or something. On reflection maybe I should have kept this secret to myself ......

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Number Eighteen Cafe - Bar - Burger also viewed

Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing