We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Called at short notice and was offered a table”
Review of The Kestrel Inn

The Kestrel Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Crickhowell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 40
Description: Beautiful old Coaching Inn nestled in the foothills of the Black Mountains. Just outside Crickhowell. Modern British food with a Mediterranean influence. Ales, Amstel, Moretti and local cider with a big selection of wine. Dogs welcome in the bar.
Restaurant details
Description: Beautiful old Coaching Inn nestled in the foothills of the Black Mountains. Just outside Crickhowell. Modern British food with a Mediterranean influence. Ales, Amstel, Moretti and local cider with a big selection of wine. Dogs welcome in the bar.
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Called at short notice and was offered a table. The atomosphere was warm and welcoming and there appeared to have a varied wine selection.

The owner was quick to attend and left us to relax in the seating area before our meals were brought in.
The food was delicious- we both went for the Lamb Rump. The food was delicious- we will visit again soon!!

Thank Raverbaby2k7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Kestrel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Kestrel Inn.

The lamb is local and has exceptional Welsh flavour, so good choice!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018

The owner Richard has gone for lifestyle over building an empire which means you have a nice friendly place to relax over lovely food and drink knowing you aren't going to be shoved out the door to fit the next sitting in. It does pay to book though to avoid disappointment although Richard was very accommodating is fitting us in since we weren't in any particular hurry.

You can tell all the food is freshly prepared with local produce, and the puddings were absolutely lush.

Will def. be visiting again next time we are in the area (please note they also have a couple of lovely rooms for B&B and the breakfast is as good as the evening meal).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Kestrel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi Kirsty

Thanks so much for the fab review, I am glad you found our place relaxing and enjoyed you meal with us.

Indeed, we never double book a table, it is yours for the evening and we encourage people to take their time and enjoy specialty coffees and a glass or two of something after dinner.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Spent two nights at The Kestel Inn for our anniversary and we loved it. The host was welcoming, the food on both nights was excellent and the breakfast was possibly even better. Situated in a lovely part of the world, it is well worth a visit either to stay as we did or to pop in for a meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Kestrel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi

Thank you very much for the generous review.

It was a pleasure to host you both for your anniversary and delighted you enjoyed it so much.

Sadly the weather was not its best, possibly the same as Swansea! But hopefully you had a good rest and went off to Ross re-energised, for your family lunch.

We look forward to seeing you again some time.

Kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We visited The Kestral this evening for dinner. The atmosphere was relaxed and homely with a warm fire and comfy sofa while we waited for our table.

The homemade warm bread sticks and camembert were a great sharing starter. We also liked the duck breast and sea bass. The lemon cheesecake for dessert was outstanding.

Would happily recommended visiting for a relaxed evening meal.

1  Thank Jordw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Kestrel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi

Thanks so much for your kind review, we are chuffed you enjoyed a cozy evening by the fire and all the dishes were a success.

We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to the Brecon Beacons.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Walked over from the campsite at Cwmdu with our dog and had a wonderfully delicious 3 course dinner. Well deserved reward after the walking during the day! The host was welcoming and friendly and the service was efficient but not rushed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lynnjauncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at The Kestrel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hi Lynn

Thanks very much for the kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal and interesting choice of wines.
I hope you had an easy walk back and had a good stay in the valley.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kestrel Inn also viewed

Llangattock, Crickhowell
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Kestrel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing