We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abernant House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
The large oak table is perfect for relaxed meals
French windows lead from the kitchen to the garden
The large kitchen has a 4 oven electric Aga
The beautiful drawing room
The grand piano can be used by guests
The cosy TV room/snug
Wood panelled TV room/snug
Our very well stocked library
The large king sized ensuite bedroom with a large balcony overlooking the garden.
Lie in bed and look out at the amazing scenery
The master room has its own Juliet balcony overlooking the garden
This single room leads out to a large balcony overlooking the garden
The beautiful gardens looking out towards the Black Mountains.
Outdoor tables and chairs for alfresco dining
Relax in the garden
Our private stretch of the River Wye
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Venture67...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed at Abernant House for a week at half term with my family, daughters, son-in-laws and grandchildren. The house and grounds are lovely and everyone hade a wonderful time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Abernant House and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Extraordi...
1 review
“Truly amazing”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in Abernant House for 3 nights, 3-6th Oct, for my son's small wedding celebration (only 12 people).
What I want to say is just - WOW!
Such a fantastic place, secluded beauty, amazingly cosy house, full of history and charms. We felt privileged to have a chance to live there for the short time.
The weather was sunny and warm. The garden was perfect and it made our time in Abernant truly exceptional!
Special thank you to Jo. She was such a wonderful host and made us feel so welcome and paid attention to everything from all the little details to tastefully decorating the rooms .
Shaun was our chef. He was terrific!
Thank you very much.
It was unforgettable experience!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was an absolute pleasure to be able to make your son's wedding day and the celebration so special. It was our privilege to be able to be part of this wonderful and memorable day.
Shaun our Private Chef, thoroughly enjoyed being able to cater for you. we very much look forward to having you back to stay with us in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rambler63
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely fantastic property, the lovely lady that showed my husband round was very helpful. The AGA was a joy to cook with, with so much room for us all to enjoy a great time together. Plenty of room in the garden to play games/have a BBQ/investigate the surrounding countryside down by the river.
The bedrooms were beautiful & spacious with plenty of bathrooms/showers. The only downside was that only 1 shower worked properly but didn't affect our stay & would definately stay again.
Thank you very much & also for the lovely cake on arrival - a great touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen & dining area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriB93
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing 2 night stay with friends!! Would definitely stay again :)”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

14 of us ageing from 20 to 29 stayed for a weekend on the 8th July at Abernant and I think it's fair to say we're all missing it. Jo was really friendly when showing us around even left us a cake and a basket of eggs which was a nice touch and went down a treat.

The house is huuuuuge!! And secluded which was great for us not having to worry about disturbing any neighbours. We made use of the bbq over the weekend despite the weather, we took shelter under the huge tree in the garden which was very cosy.

The river down the bottom of the garden is amazing, and having private use to it was even better.

The only down side was that we didn't stay longer..
Overall we all agreed we'd come back to this stunning house in the future.

Thanks for having us :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itry M
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a great time at the house which is an amazing place to stay! Fantastic scenery and very relaxing! Wonderful book collection at the house and bundles of character! Jo is an amazing hostess! Baked us a very tasty cake and I greedily shovelled down three whole slices on the Monday morning!!!

Would highly recommend!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing