We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family/Birthday get-to-gether”
other travellers have booked this property
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Lounge with log burner, TV/FreeSat/DVD, and sofas Dining room, with kitchen in background and sitting room to the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Lounge with log burner, TV/FreeSat/DVD, and sofas
Dining room, with kitchen in background and sitting room to the left
Sitting room and dining room
View of lounge from Kitchen
Kitchen dishwasher and washing machine
Kitchen that to the right of photo overlooks dining and sitting room area - open plan
Snug (second sitting room)
Snowdrop room, very large double room with ensuite
View across valley, taken from Snowdrop room
View of farmhouse gardens across valley, showing BBQ in foreground
BBQ overlooking the valley
Gate to farmhouse showing house behind fence
Primrose room, large double room with ensuite
Primrose room ensuite
Foxglove room, king size bed with large wardrobe and chest of drawers
Daffodil room, twin room with dressing table
Upstairs hallway
Farmhouse gardens, farmhouse is to the right, picnic table and BBQ are to the left of picture
Gate to farmhouse taken from just outside the farmhouse
The driveway across fields leading to the farmhouse
View of river Chwefri taken just 2 minutes walk from the farmhouse (within the grounds of the farm)
View across valley at sunset from just outside farmhouse
Farmhouse gardens, showing picnic table to left with BBQ just behind.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnacare...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family/Birthday get-to-gether”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When I booked The Farm House I didn't realise how rural it is. The views are just stunning! The house has absolutely everything you need. The kitchen is perfect for all you foodies out there (well equipped). Perfect weekend break. I will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and kitchen
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00lottie
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely house in an excellent location!”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very spacious, comfortable & well equipped. We had an excellent stay-the local cycle routes were lovely. Particularly enjoyed the Élan Valley trail. Great location for a quiet 'get away'.Local pubs & takeaways were also all good.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleventhH...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional cottage in idyllic rural setting”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 6 friends (3 couples and one singleton) stayed here in October. We only rented Carregywen for 2 nights as, initially, we were simply looking for accommodation to attend a wedding nearby.

Before we even arrived, we realised we'd made a huge mistake in not renting the cottage for longer. From the first point of contact, Gary was responsive, friendly and helpful. He sent over a handbook with all the information you could possibly need and also emailed phone numbers of local taxi companies. We took a wrong turn on our way to the cottage (nothing wrong with Gary's directions - we were driving at night!) and I had to call Gary at about midnight. Once again, he was really helpful and stayed on the phone until we'd found the farmhouse.

Carregywen itself is a lovely cottage, far more spacious than I expected, and which truly feels like a home from home. It's very quaint and rustic, complete with a log burner, but also has all the usual mod cons - so you can still relax without having to do any housework!

We didn't get much time to explore the local area unfortunately, but the views from the farmhouse are fantastic and we did manage to go on a short walk before we left. The location is perfect - a really good balance of open fields, woodlands and there's even a stream just down the hill!

Overall, I would definitely recommend this as a place for a family or a group of friends to stay. I really hope I get to go back before too long!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway property”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We decided on a complete change from the usual Centerparcs for our family get together this year and settled on this farmhouse after much research.
What a good decision! The description and previous reviews are spot on.
We (being 3 couples and 2 large dogs) had a lovely long weekend enjoying each other's company and the peace and tranquillity which this isolated property provides.
The opportunity exists for numerous activities round and about but our group were happy enjoying the environment and walking the dogs, with only the occasional motorised excursion. Excellent wi-fi enabled family business to be dispatched quickly and easily.
The farmhouse itself is spacious and the large, well equipped, kitchen combines with the main sitting room so the duty cook remains involved.
Gary made sure we had all necessary information before our visit and he provided that all-important personal point of contact should any queries have arisen.
Thanks Gary. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & wildlife
Liked least: Heading back to the real world.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VKLS
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious, quiet, well equipped”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really great stay at the farmhouse thank you. It was ideal for us (4 couples and a dog) and we thought the kitchen was bigger than we expected. We also enjoyed the log burner, barbecue and the suggested walk in the surrounding area. One of my friends had the Ordance survey map app on his smartphone which really helped navigate around the area. The wifi in the cottage worked well once we entered the wireless key that is written on the router. Although the farmhouse is in a quiet peaceful area it is not far to drive to nearby towns with a big tesco for food and restaurants.

We arrived very late at night in the dark and found it quite diffcult to find the right farm track to go down which was our own fault really as the directions are specific but we were tired. My adivce is to read the directions provided properly and look carefully for the pole with the 3 stripes on it at the end of the farm track.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size, the barbecue, the well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Our ability to not read the directions properly
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing