We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being at home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Like being at home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We spent the weekend at the Plasnewydd Bed And Breakfast and we really enjoyed it. Shirley is a lovely host and made us feel at home. Nothing was to much trouble. We feel like going back just to see this amazing lady again.

The room was nice and we had a couple of great nights sleep.

The breakfast was lovely as well.

I will recommend this to my friends.

Room Tip: We booked the double bedroom with private bathroom. It was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
82
41
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Plasnewydd B. & B. was recommended to us by our son and daughter-in-law who had stayed there earlier this year. We, too, found it an excellent guest house with a warm welcome from Shirley Allen. The bedroom was light and comfortable. There was also a sitting area downstairs for games tv for reading. Shirley had information about local places to eat and for the three nights we stayed, we enjoyed very good meals out (especially in Lasswade restaurant with a top-class chef). Breakfast was tasty and set us up for some great walks in this beautiful rural area.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room in the front which was light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had a very warm welcome.Our every comfort was provided for. Superb food and accommodation. Lovely home-made welsh cakes on our tea tray. Shirley was very knowledgeable about what to see and do in the area. Good central location for sightseeing. We couldn't have wished for a better hostess. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The guest house was lovely shirley was a very nice and kind person nothing was to much for her, it was lovely and clean the food was out this world cooked to perfection..the rooms were clean and comfy and warm which makes a difference a really enjoyable stay, and would go back with out a doubt.....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueward511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The Hotel was in a good location, few minutes were taken to reach all the sides of Wales; Shirley was lovely and attentive at all times, mainly when she made me a croissant at the breakfast, so kind; the room was big and cosy, from the bed, I couldn't get off, as it was truly comfortable; the garden really cute as well. Sheets and towels, smelling so good. My friend and I were really taken care off. Shirley top 10!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mila_mr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
6.7 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.2 km away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 km away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 km away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.7 km away
Cerdyn Villa B&B
Cerdyn Villa B&B
#9 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast

Property: Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
Address: Plasnewydd Irfon Terrace, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price range (per night): $51 - $99
Hotel Class:4 star — Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overall Winner of Llanwrtyd Wells in Bloom. Food Hygiene Rating 5/5. Tripadvisor Number one in Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales 100% rating. Located within easy walking distance of all amenities and the Heart of Wales Railway Line in Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys, Wales, United Kingdom, Plasnewydd Guest House is a recently refurbished, family run, Visit Wales 4 Star Bed and Breakfast with Welcome Host Gold Award July 2014. A highly rated B&B (see guest reviews) Plasnewydd was built as a Guest House for our welsh family in 1911. Our family are the longest serving welsh accommodation providers in Llanwrtyd Wells, Mid Wales. Our accommodation comprises of refurbished, stylish bedrooms with airy and bright double and single bedrooms providing comfortable beds and modern en-suite and private bathroom facilities. Our business provides guests with our legendary hearty, five star, welsh breakfast chosen from the menu. We provide high quality food which is cooked with pride and use locally produced ingredients. Shirley's vegetarian homemade sausages are not to be missed which makes them a treat for your breakfast and are available daily at Plasnewydd accommodation. A cosy lounge and dining room are provided for guests only, together with friendly staff. Helping clients to relax and enjoy their home from home break is Plasnewydd B&B's priority. Parking is no problem as there is a private, off road car park. Also storage shed and outside washing facilities for bikes etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing