We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a film set”

Coes Faen Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 64 Restaurants in Barmouth
Price range: USD 44 - USD 57
Description: We love food and wine, and we enjoy searching out superb raw materials and creating memorable dishes. Our intimate contemporary restaurant serves Tuscan-inspired dinners on Friday and Saturday evenings (over 18s only).
Restaurant details
Description: We love food and wine, and we enjoy searching out superb raw materials and creating memorable dishes. Our intimate contemporary restaurant serves Tuscan-inspired dinners on Friday and Saturday evenings (over 18s only).
Reviewed 28 August 2018

as if we'd walked into a film, this beautiful dining room, we were served a delicious meal. On this occasion we had the place to ourselves and the service was excellent

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank maryDyffrynArdudwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2018

There was nothing about our evening visit that I didn’t like. Totally unexpected and so refreshing. The food was just great and the staff charming. We walked the gardens and the views over the estuary are to die for. Oh yes !,,,not cheap but well worth something a bit special

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank MarkH850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Group of us [non-residents] visited & ate in the restaurant recently. Must say the common consensus across the group was that the food was absolutely 5-star. Restaurant was quiet & lacked a bit of ambiance but it wasn't a major issue. I'd certainly recommend to anyone looking for high-end dining while in the area.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank markopolo797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

We visit Barmouth regularly and our 2017 visit to Coes Faen Lodge was a true delight. Hubby is a chef and loves to eat out whenever the food is really good. We don't mind paying for excellence.
We therefore eagerly anticipated dining there again on 28 April 2018 but what a huge disappointment!
So much so it has taken us all this time to write a negative review. And it would take a lot to persuade us to dine there again.
Our lovely B&B hosts had warned us that Coes Faen Lodge had a new chef but we still expected them to provide high standards. How wrong we were!
On 28 April, even though the restaurant was not full (one other couple apart from us, plus a group of about 8) we had to wait SO long for each course - 45 mins for our main course. We complained about/sent back some of the food (not hot; dried out). The 'front of house' staff were delightful, so helpful, so apologetic but they shouldn't have to apologise for what was none of their doing.
It was clear to us that chef's attention had been totally on that largish group to the detriment certainly of my hubby and myself and no doubt that other couple but I can't speak for them - even though we noticed how very long they had to wait.
Recent reviews from other diners appear to be more positive so perhaps the chef learned to treat all diners (not just largish parties) with equal respect or have they replaced that chef?
It was just a 'Thanks for your review' today from the truly excellent time after time after time Bistro Bermo that reminded me of how bad our experience of Coes Faen Lodge had been.
Now that I've taken the time to post a review and been transported back to how unpleasant the experience was, it occurs to me that, even though we had to send food back and make complaints (quietly cos we don't make a fuss), there was no follow up from management. Our first time there - when they had a water egress issue - both owners were very much in attendance and pleasantly ensured everyone was happy. That plus the excellent food is why we held Coes Faen Lodge in such high regard. However, as explained, our view is now tainted.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank 48kay2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe W, Marketing Executive at Coes Faen Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to Coes Faen Lodge and so sorry that your return visit back in April did not work out so well. We appreciate your feedback -- we take all feedback very seriously and try to act promptly and conscientiously. Our practice is to converse with our guests and listen carefully to individual requirements to continually improve standards and levels of bespoke service associated with Coes Faen Lodge. Our chef is very experienced and highly skilled, with very consistent quality of delivery. Of course mistakes can very occasionally happen, and as we did not succeed in delighting you on your second visit, we would appreciate a call on 01341 281632 to allow us to apologise in person and to discuss your concerns. Our Head Chef is now fully in the swing of our business and producing some sublime dishes. We are a small business and we offer a wide choice of dishes, freshly cooked from scratch using superb local ingredients, and inevitably it does take a little longer to serve as a result. We do provide complimentary home-baked focaccia (or gluten-free alternative) and a selection of olives to all guests at the start of the meal to mitigate this, and we sell the tables to guests for the entire evening, aiming to provide a slow-paced, relaxed experience. We continually strive to optimise food waiting times without compromising quality, but we also realise that we probably need to emphasise the time taken to enjoy a meal here a little more on our website and on our menu. Thanks again for choosing to experience Coes Faen Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

A superb place, can’t rate it highly enough. Didn’t get to try the restaurant but the rooms are incredible. The gardens are breathtaking as well.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank williambelcher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe W, Marketing Executive at Coes Faen Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review Will. We hope to see you again in the future and you have the opportunity to try our fine dining restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coes Faen Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Barmouth, Gwynedd
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Coes Faen Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing