We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ARDEN HOUSE 322645

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The accommodation is over four floors and is larger than it looks from the outside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
The accommodation is over four floors and is larger than it looks from the outside.
Theres a new dressing table for getting ready for an evening out.
Fully equipped kitchen which we hope has everything you need.
The kitchen has a roomy dining space with a table which opens out for more dining comfort.
The paddle staircase up to the attic room.Note: Not suitable for elderly or very young.
Up the paddle staircase into the attic room.
The attic room. Teenagers just love it!
Enjoy beautiful sunsets.
Fancy Christmas away this year, or maybe a short break when all the fuss is over?
Special occasion? How about wine and chocolates? Just let the owner know.
Stable Door - ideal for hot summer days and keeping pets and children safely inside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheMason7
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is the second time staying at Arden House, and we will definitely booking again. Located in the centre of Barmouth, the house is in the perfect position. Everything you need is supplied, and its great to also have the bit of outdoor space to sit and relax after a long day on the beach.
Would happily recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind comments ,we stay here ourselves and we know what we want from a holiday cottage hence why we strive to keep it guest friendly and comfortable as well as the location is perfect for High Street and decent scenic walks on your doorstep .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidj196...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

First time in the property but we have been going to Barmouth for many years. Wanted a quite weekend so hence going in March. Property was clean and had all the facilities we required. Unusual layout of property which is that the kitchen/diner on the ground floor with living room down in the basement. Not a problem though. Overall we had a great weekend where we could leave the car parked up as the property is set centrally in the town but with very little disturbance from passers by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
It is quite advantageous being located just off high street --- park your car and forget about it -- no real need to use it -- everything within short walking distance including the train ,which goes up & down one of the most scenic coastlines in the country .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moomin_Ba...
Stafford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for a bamouth break”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This isn't my first visit to Arden House and hopefully won't be my last. The cottage is ideally placed in the heart of Barmouth and convenient for all it has to offer.
Five minutes walk and we are on the beach with the dogs.
The cottage is exceptionally well equipped and the decor's homely. The heating works well and the shower is good.
A lovely welcome basket of essentials ( wine and cake) is really nice.
Would recommend this to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning again , we are always striving to improve and welcome suggestions & comments --- please recommend Arden House to all your family,friends and work colleagues--
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auntylal
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value cosy seaside Festive Break”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My wife and I stayed 3 nights over New Year and it was just what we needed to escape the post Christmas blues. The location is perfect, within minutes walking distance to the beach and Barmouth hosts a wealth of quirky pubs, cafes and coffee shops. Arden House is very well equipped, quick and easy to heat (thanks to the combi boiler) and overall our stay was very comfortable. The only downside was the musty smell of damp which to be honest was evident from the minute we opened the front door. Having owned a house with a basement dining room I know how hard it is in Winter to tackle this issue, especially when the house is not occupied 24/7. Nevertheless once we'd had the heating on for a few days the smell did seem to subside....or maybe we just got used to it! This would not deter us from booking again and we look forward to visiting later this year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
We understand this has been an issue and when the cottage has been empty for a while with no ventilation and airing etc..
We have a portable de humidifier in the basement lounge to help the situation ,but,once heating is on and windows opened etc..then the "staleness. " will go .
I am sure this doesn't deter people in general when staying in a traditional old cottage so long as it is clean ,tidy and welcoming in a great location and well priced.
I am glad you had a good time and will want to return soon .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Thank you Deborah we would love to welcome you back and recommend us to your friends and relatives .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing