We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very cosy comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ARDEN HOUSE 322645

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The accommodation is over four floors and is larger than it looks from the outside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
The accommodation is over four floors and is larger than it looks from the outside.
Theres a new dressing table for getting ready for an evening out.
Fully equipped kitchen which we hope has everything you need.
The kitchen has a roomy dining space with a table which opens out for more dining comfort.
The paddle staircase up to the attic room.Note: Not suitable for elderly or very young.
Up the paddle staircase into the attic room.
The attic room. Teenagers just love it!
Enjoy beautiful sunsets.
Fancy Christmas away this year, or maybe a short break when all the fuss is over?
Special occasion? How about wine and chocolates? Just let the owner know.
Stable Door - ideal for hot summer days and keeping pets and children safely inside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
penny153
Halstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very cosy comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage the photos don't do it justice. I brought everything but the kitchen sink because it was Christmas but i really didn't need to. The cottage is very well equipped. The towels are lovely and thick. teatowels to grater to fruit bowl provided. You really only need to bring what you require to eat. The cottage warms up really fast. We had a lovely stay beautiful scenery right near the beach. Lots of places to visit great place.Very qwerky and traditional loved it!
I hope to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the downstairs living room - with the door to the garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Yes - we do need improved photos - would definitely show the cottage better !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMason7
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

As a family, we have been travelling to Barmouth for a fair few years now. We loved our stay in Arden House this year. Perfect location for the centre of Barmouth, with shops, pubs and restaurants literally on the door step.
The house itself is lovely and cosy, warms up quickly and has everything you need.
Can't wait to stay again!
Thank you Adrian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Yes we are located well for everything and look forward for you returning again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjm321
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, characterful, cottage in central location.”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We love Barmouth and this is a perfect place to stay!
The cottage is very cosy and we felt at home straight away.
All the facilities were as described and our teenager loved her attic room via the paddle staircase.
I would have appreciated wifi, but my husband was glad to be away from it all for a change......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and cosy
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
We decided against installing wifi ,however,there are local BT wifi hot spots to use ,which is what we do when we go because we use our BT password from home to get the wifi .
If you aren't a BT customer with Internet you can pay as you go ?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie G
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This cottage has been well renovated and is nice and cosy. The kitchen is well equipped and the utility room is a real bonus. The location is good - shops, cafes, restaurants, beach and station all within a couple of minute's walk. There are many opportunities for good walks and beautiful train rides. A car really isn't necessary. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to everything in town.
Liked least: paddle stairs but then we are 65 and 70!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Yes we have had many people stay without a car and have used the train to get here as far away as Hastings ?
Excellent rail network.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louise553
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and convenient for travelling by train and with extra homely touches.”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very convenient for travelling to and from on railway. Liked the extra homely touches and the nice extras like a welcome basket, use of umbrella,sewing kit, dog bowls, bench outside to sit in the evening sun. Town itself has good food shops so if you travel by train stocking up is easy - the nearest food shop even loaned me a trolley so I could get the main shop 'home" easily. Home is the right word as you can quickly feel settled here. Good pub nearest the bridge was also a bonus for our stay.
One or two small cleaning issues which the owner assures will be passed on to the cleaner and remedied. Very quick and easy to contact owner who responds almost immediately to issues. Very friendly and helpful.
Easy internet access would be a bonus but there are Internet caf€s nearby. We did get on Internet in end.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
We always welcome constructive criticism ,if we aren't aware of any issues then we can't put things right for the next guests that stay.We always endeavour to respond promptly to guests queries and issues with the cottage because if we were staying somewhere we would expect that same courtesy ourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing