We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wholesome food”
Review of The Anchor

The Anchor
Ranked #19 of 64 Restaurants in Barmouth
Price range: USD 5 - USD 21
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A Restaurant that takes pride in the quality of the food it provides, using locally sourced produce as much as possible, making homemade soups daily along with Malaysian curry and Vegetarian options. Kim has previously run a very successful Bistro/Coffee Shop in the town for 25 years and, along with Mark who has worked in Pub Management they offer you the customer a friendly dining experience.
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Eat at the restaurant last night and had a thoroughly enjoyable dinner.

The food was plentiful and cooked well, my pate and the fish pie were superb. The wine was very good value and the service very good despite the restaurant being full for most of the time we were there.

Will certainly visit there again when in Barmouth.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank JohnPainter1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2016

A lot of other pubs and restaurants had stopped serving but The Anchor was open and I'm really glad we found it. Good food and friendly staff.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I am surprised by some of the negative comments. 12 of us ate last night, all had starters and main meals, all of us really enjoyed them. The waitress couldn't have been more attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank Radfordsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The restaurant offered very poor service. The food was very poor as well - greasy and unappetizing. The house wine was absolutely undrinkable, and when I mentioned it, they nodded as if they understood, but charged us anyway.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We never booked a table but managed to get seated,food was nice at a decent price,staff were very busy.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank jacqjay34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor also viewed

 
Barmouth, Gwynedd
Llanaber, Barmouth
 

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing