We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing and excellent staff”
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gwbert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Stayed Mon-Fri due to business commitment. Room was excellent cleaned every day to high standards with fresh towels every day too. Eat in the restaurant every evening with probably the best food ever. All the staff are very helpful and customer service is second to none. A real pleasure to stay in your excellent hotel hopefully be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michellebateman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for The Gwbert Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We decided to have a look at The Cliffs Hotel in Gwbert, but it was too big and far too busy for us, so we stopped across the road. Hotel is friendly with lots of waiters in their excellent restaurant. Food was lovely and they had some real beer, so I have a happy husband, local lobster was on the menu and was delicious. Great to have waiters, lovely young men who also have a sense of humour, just lovely.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend here for my birthday.The rooms are lovely and the hotel is lovely and clean. We thought all the staff were lovely apart from the receptionist who was very blunt and miserable which was a bit off putting. A smile and pleasantries doesn't cost anything and being front of house should be her priority.A shame because that's my only criticism we loved it here.

Stunning view to wake up to lovely food and a lovely decked area outside. And a short walk to another hotel which was lovely for a stroll and have a tipple there!

Would definitely return one day highly recommend.We actually got engaged here so fond memories.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rich-Gem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

One night of luxury upgraded by jo and Antony who could not do enough for us
Wonderful suite with sea views
Excellent meal in the evening so much choice again staff helpful and friendly
Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice cereal fruit and full cooked again with a good choice
We will defiantly be returning in September for more than one night

Room Tip: We had room 20 fantastic
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We went to Flat rock last night to celebrate our wedding anniversary we live locally, and have been here before. The bar area as we entered looked very sad and unclean, the bar itself needed a wipe down it was full of glass marks and spilt beer, when we sat down in the bar area to look at the menu the table was dirty and full of glass marks this had now been wiped down , infact all the tables were the same . The settee I sat on was dirty and had old food stuck between the cushions. I was going to take frien
ds there next week but wont now. The staff are young so maybe some guidance would not go amiss. Diolch

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KILGERRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementAdmin, Manager at The Gwbert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

KILLGERRAN,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent visit to our restaurant.

We are very sorry to hear that you found our bar area to be in a less than ideal state upon your arrival. Although we had had a busy day, there is no excuse for this and please be assured that your experience has been brought to the attention of our team and retraining has been conducted to ensure that a similar event does not occur in the future.

We are, of course, glad that you have enjoyed previous visits, although it's a shame that you did not feel compelled to leave a review after any of these occasions.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.2 km away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
833 reviews
17.3 km away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
568 reviews
4.1 km away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#1 of 15 in Cardigan
27 reviews
4.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#10 of 16 in Cardigan
52 reviews
2.1 km away
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in St. Dogmaels
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range: $114 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing