We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house with great views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Captains House

The Captains House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Captains House
The centre of Stein Stein and its lochside setting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Captains House
The centre of Stein
Stein and its lochside setting
Stein from the south
Stein, Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lochbay, Waternish and the setting of Stein
The living room with open fire
The living room again, the TV is now a flat screen with DVD, video player/recorder and Freeview
The living room, with views over the loch and rear garden. Pictures are artist prints or originals
The kitchen, overlooking the loch
The kitchen looking towards the living room
The dining room adjacent to the kitchen, the table extends to seat eight
Double bedroom with loch view
Double bedroom with window seats and rocking chair
Twin bedroom with loch view, window seats and chairs
Twin bedroom with traditional fireplace (decorative only)
The bathroom with loch views
Stein from the shore
Stein Sunset
Waternish and Stein are famed for their glorious sunsets
Stein in the snow
Looking along the terrace from the south, Stein inn is beyond the Captains House
Stein and Lochbay township
Stein from above and the east
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David W
1 review
“Perfect house with great views”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in May 2016

The location is excellent - As usual the house on arrival is always clean and tidy. The top floor bathroom must have one of the finest bathroom views on the whole of Skye ! The owners Cathy and Pat are only too pleased to help with any information you may require.
Would I recommend the house to a friend, well Yes and No - why No because I do not want anybody else to know about this gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balcraigc...
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in December 2015

A lovely quiet spot to spend the festive season. We've been coming to Skye for years and this our favourite place and favourite holiday home. Everything is clean, well cared for and well equipped. Despite raging gales at this time of year, it is warm and comfortable. Looking forward to coming back in the summer of 17.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie A
Borders, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming, historical house”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at this charming, cosy house with our daughter for a summer break. It's location is exceptional, close to the oldest Inn on Skye (Stein Inn), and very close to a good restaurant. It's is also a short distance from the shore, with superb views.
The house was well-appointed, with every conceivable practical need covered, and the owners were friendly and kind. The house itself was clean and comfortable.
The shop and gallery on the ground floor were interesting, with excellent local art and crafts.
We enjoyed our week very much, and hope to go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joecallan
Wellington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Flaming sunsets, eider ducks, and the oldest inn in Skye”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Captain's House is on the waterfront, at the end of the road, in a small settlement planned in the eighteenth century as a centre for the fishing industry. On the ground floor is a gallery selling good quality work by local artists, the first floor and attics now comprise a well maintained and well furnished apartment. Big bedrooms, a double and a twin, kitchen and dining area, sitting room with open fire, two bathrooms. Magnificent views over the loch and the headlands to the far islands and big skies, big sunsets. A few yards away are a family friendly pub and a well reputed restaurant (but the latter opened for the season only as I was leaving). The sea is even closer, at the end of the garden, and even in February the hardy can swim. The owners live nearby and are very helpful. Shortbread and fine china for your arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marykrobe...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We have stayed at the Captains House almost every year since 1990. We love the setting, waking up looking out to the beautiful view ,with the most amazing sunsets . The house is warm and cosy with storage heaters and a inviting coal fire . The house is well equipped, very clean ,the beds are always crisp and clean and very comfortable. The owners Pat and Cathy are always welcoming and on occasion have lit a fire for our arrival .There is always lots of hot water and plenty of coal and logs for the fire . All of this is why we return time and time again and recommend it regularly to family and friends as an ideal base to see Skye .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing