We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lusta Cottage

Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lusta shore edge Another beautiful day - zoom of view taken from Lusta Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lusta shore edge
Another beautiful day - zoom of view taken from Lusta Cottage
Pink sunset of Stein taken from Lusta Cottage
Exploring Lusta Croft
Our favourite picnic spot on the croft!
Sue and Craig under Lusta's biggest waterfall!
Lusta Waterfalls
Seaview to Outer Hebrides and gate to croft from righthand side of garden
Angus enjoying the bottom of the croft
Christmas at Lusta Cottage!
Sunset over Stein taken from Lusta Cottage
Sheep with lambs at the top of Lusta croft
Lusta Family bathroom
Double Bedroom with Ensuite
Twin Bedroom 1  in main house
Twin Bedroom 2 with separate access and ensuite
En-suite Shower room with Twin Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Lounge
Sunset from Lusta Cottage
Snowy view taken from inside conservatory (Xmas 09)
Snowy Beach! The Beach at Lusta Christmas 2009
Winter wonderland at Lusta - Chritmas 2009
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
NicH101
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 17 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at Lusta Cottage. The cottage is well located, just a 5 minute walk into Stein village and also a short drive to Dunvegan. The Waternish peninsular is beautiful and the views from the cottage are stunning. We loved sitting in conservatory, watching the wildlife (we saw sea eagles) and enjoying the changing colours of the sea and sky. We had some fine days but also rain and so we were grateful that the cottage was always warm and cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal cottage in idyllic spot”
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Waternish is a beautiful spot on Skye, quiet and peaceful but close enough to Portree for regular trips by car(roughly a 30 minute drive). It is also close to Dunvegan which has enough of the essentials to avoid a daily trip to Portree.
The cottage is a short walk - about 20 minutes - from Stein with its Inn(excellent for pub lunches and dinners) and the fantastic Lochbay Restaurant. In fact, you can walk down to Stein through the croft land at the foot of the garden in the cottage. The walk takes you past sheep and a waterfall.
The house is clean and bright, with the separate "flat" ideal for my wife's mother who accompanied us. The cottage was just the right size for the 5 of us - granny, the two of us and our children aged 5 and 4.
Before our trip, we had to try to change our dates because of an unexpected work commitment. Sue and Craig were extremely accommodating and assisted us with the necessary changes which the Trip Advisor system seemed to struggle with.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopetoun, Australia
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
We are so delighted that you and your Mum enjoyed your holiday! We absolutely agree your comments about the ensuite ...it was designed by the previous owners when it was run as a B&B ....it is handy to have an ensuite, but we agree size wise it is small! We thank you for your suggestion for a rail on the steps and will consider possible solutions for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 May 2018
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lusta Cottage - we are very lucky to have this cottage in its amazing setting! We have decorators booked to address the areas that need some attention following the harsh winter. However this can only be done when the weather allows (!) which we hope will be in early June. We trust this will enhance our guests' enjoyment of the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Discover7...
1 review
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Stunning location,blown down the hill,low and behold there is a FABULOUS dog friendly pub, and two restaurants, what more can you ask for when the weather turns.
Enjoyed the huge garden, it was fabulous watching my grandson run around in his pyjamas,dressing gown and wellingtons. Nana and the dog Leo not far behind, complete bliss.
The cottage itself needs a wee bit tender loving care.
Otherwise it was a wonderful holiday.
Batteries now recharged.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
We are so pleased you enjoyed a great holiday! We agree the cottage needs a bit of tlc. Unfortunately, we were unable to complete our renovations before your stay, however we have arranged for exterior redecoration in June, weather permitting!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing