We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lusta Cottage

Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lusta shore edge Another beautiful day - zoom of view taken from Lusta Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lusta shore edge
Another beautiful day - zoom of view taken from Lusta Cottage
Pink sunset of Stein taken from Lusta Cottage
Exploring Lusta Croft
Our favourite picnic spot on the croft!
Sue and Craig under Lusta's biggest waterfall!
Lusta Waterfalls
Seaview to Outer Hebrides and gate to croft from righthand side of garden
Angus enjoying the bottom of the croft
Christmas at Lusta Cottage!
Sunset over Stein taken from Lusta Cottage
Sheep with lambs at the top of Lusta croft
Lusta Family bathroom
Double Bedroom with Ensuite
Twin Bedroom 1  in main house
Twin Bedroom 2 with separate access and ensuite
En-suite Shower room with Twin Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Lounge
Sunset from Lusta Cottage
Snowy view taken from inside conservatory (Xmas 09)
Snowy Beach! The Beach at Lusta Christmas 2009
Winter wonderland at Lusta - Chritmas 2009
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
David A
Penicuik
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location ”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful cottage in September.
The first thing you notice is the views. The location of the cottage perched on a hill overlooking Lochbay is stunning and the uninterrupted views from the conservatory (or, as we called it, The Viewing Platform) make the journey well worthwhile. It is such a peaceful place that we looked forward to getting up in the morning just to breakfast and watch the wildlife and the ever-changing skies, which, even in a storm, were breathtaking.
The cottage itself is very clean and cosy with 3 bedrooms and every comfort you could need including satellite TV and free Wi-Fi which was an unexpected bonus.
We cooked on 3 of the nights we stayed and the fully equipped kitchen allowed us to do this in comfort.
I would heartily recommend the Stein Inn for lunch and dinner and the fabulous Lochbay Seafood restaurant is a must and well worth the money.
Also essential is a visit to Skyeskyns factory and shop. A free explanatory tour and no hard sell. Also go to Ian Williams fantastic Gallery at Brae Fasach. You must try the scones and coffee and ian and Gill are so friendly and welcoming. All places are no more than a 15 minute walk away, but take the car because you will want to buy so much.
All in all a fantastic place which we didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you for your fantastic comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Lusta Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn F
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best view possible....”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

have visited Skye several times before and this area is my favorite. I booked the cottage through trip Adviser which was relatively straightforward and was hopeful that the cottage would be nice. The cottage was very clean, beds comfortable and the kitchen well equipped for our needs. Best of all though is the sun lounge and its view, it is just amazing and makes this cottage an absolute must to return to. The cottage had a good wireless internet connection allowing me to do work whilst looking at that amazing view., no wonder so many artists live here. Best of all we saw the Aurora so clearly from the garden on two evenings, it is such an awe inspiring sight. I will be back I am sure......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: No woodburner
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lusta Cottage and had a great holiday. We totally agree that Waternish is one of the best locations on the island. Absolutely delighted that you got to see the Northern Lights - Fantastic! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireneh572...
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous location for a peaceful holiday”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Arrived in the rain, but the lovely cosy cottage and the stunning views made up for the weather. All you can say as you step into the conservatory is wow! The view is spectacular. We saw lots of wildlife from inside the cottage! Eagles and buzzards soared just outside the windows!! The cottage itself is very comfortable with plenty of space for a relaxing holiday. Hope to visit again next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_jeff...
Brisbane Region, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent place for Sitting Still”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Being Scotland, the rain fell and and the wind blew. Some days we used Lusta Cottage as a base for walks on Skye and doing touristy thing. On other days we did nothing but sit reading our books and staring out across Loch Bay.
It was absolutely beautiful. Be sure to make the most of the property extending down to the water as a means to get to the fabulous restaurant and pub down in Stein, and leave your car behind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The relaxing view
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Darby20...
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in Skye”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Lusta Cottage and it remains our favourite family holiday destination in Scotland. Stunning views from the cottage, with the protected bay looking out over the Outer Hebrides. We again spent days just playing in the river and on the rocky coast at the foot of the croft (loads of shell fossils here). Exciting to walk through the stream in places, and play in the secret canyon near the cottage - bring wellies! Perfect to walk to Stein Inn for lunch, tea or just for a drink. Stunning wildflower meadows on the croft, wild irises and ragged robin in all the marshy areas.
About an hour's drive to the Quiraing, which is a great day out followed by Staffin Beach to look for fossils or build sandcastles. Coral Beaches and Dunvegan seals also brilliant and are a short drive from Lusta.
Cottage well-equipped and comfy, and now includes Wi-Fi. Hope to visit again next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Playing on the croft.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your second visit to Lusta Cottage and look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing