We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Voyage746...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

The Smiddy is an absolute gem. It offers breathtaking views, the most perfectly equipped and beautiful accommodation one can imagine and such lovely hosts. Simply cannot praise this cottage highly enough. Hope to return to this little piece of heaven in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiJM
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, accomodation and luckily fantastic weather.”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at the Smiddy and would thoroughly recommend it. The house is in excellent condition and the location is perfect - giving privacy at all times, but handy to John and Carmen if you need anything.
The house is really well equipped and the views are second to none. We felt completely at home and enjoyed exploring the island with this as our base.

it's a lovely part of the island and we would have no hesitation in suggesting the Smiddy as the perfect base for a relaxing and very comfortable holiday. John and Carmen are great hosts - very friendly and helpful and entirely respectful to your time at their cottage.
10/10

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaR-B
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Certainly high end!”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Advertised as high end and certainly is! The lovely Carmen has furnished the Smiddy beautifully, with absolutely anything and everything you could wish for. The setting is in a gorgeous spot with fabulous views. Whatever the weather this is somewhere everyone would like to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“April Stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for four nights in April and couldn't fault The Smiddy. Carmen and John are very friendly and helpful and have thought of everything you could want/need for your stay.

The Smiddy is lovely, it has been refurbed to a very high standard and the views are amazing. It is also filled with information, maps etc on the Island which we found very helpful.

It is a great base to explore the island and so nice to come back to the peace and quiet at the end of the day.

There is a pub, cafe and restaurant within a half an hour walk and everything else easily reachable by car. We stocked up on food at the co-op in Portree and cooked most nights apart from going to Loch Bay for one eve (well worth a visit). Carmen had provided bread, milk, soup, some local beers and nibbles so even if we had arrived late we wouldn't have gone hungry, very nice touch!

Carmen and John were about if you needed to ask any questions and John provided my fiancé with information about the local birds that he had been asking about.

I would definitely recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Keele, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heavenly views, gorgeous cosy accommodation and wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a perfect four night stay in paradise in Waternish on the Isle of Skye. It was our first time in Scotland and the Isle of Skye, and we had such a brilliant time that we're already planning our return visit to 'The Smiddy' in the summer. For saying that the accommodation is in a fairly isolated and rural location, we found it really easily thanks to Carmen's fantastic instructions. As soon as we stepped inside 'The Smiddy', we knew straight away we had picked the perfect place to stay during our holiday. It's absolutely gorgeously decorated throughout, very modern kitchen and very highly equipped, with beautiful oak floors and doors. The bright colours were a welcome touch. It was lovely and warm inside too despite the wintry weather outside. We were greeted with fresh flowers on the table and essentials in the fridge, and we were even surprised with a treat of Skye brewed beers! After arriving late in the dark, waking up the following morning was something I could not wait for. Wow wow wow, the views from 'The Smiddy' are just phenomenal. Enjoying the setting sun over the loch were a definite highlight of our stay along with the wildlife that can be seen from the comfort of the lounge. There are sooo many good things to say about 'The Smiddy' but by far one of the best bits is John + Carmen. They are such kind lovely hospitable hosts, who really made our stay even more special. We asked John if he knew of anywhere we could try to look for otters, and not only did he give us a few tips, John offered to take us out otter spotting and the next day Carmen brought a book around on otters....such a shame the weather did not hold out for us to go looking :( fingers crossed for next time! To summarise: I would 100% recommend 'The Smiddy' to anyone, book up and you won't be disappointed if stunning scenery and a lovely comfortable home in a quiet peaceful location are what you're looking for!! :D

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing