We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Greenbank”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside View - Front of the wonderful Greenbank Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside View - Front of the wonderful Greenbank Cottage.
Breakfast on the patio at Greenbank Cottage. Living Room - Living Room with fantastic Open Log/ Coal Fire and Dining Area in Greenbank.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Outside View - Front of the wonderful Greenbank Cottage.
Breakfast on the patio at Greenbank Cottage.
Living Room - Living Room with fantastic Open Log/ Coal Fire and Dining Area in Greenbank.
Living Room - Living Room with Open Log/ Coal Fire and access to Garden/ Outdoor Patio in Greenbank.
Dining Area - Lovely Dining Area in Greenbank (spot lots of books, DVDs and games for you to use).
Main Bedroom - Very spacious Main Bedroom with comfortable king-size bed in Greenbank.
Twin Room - Room with Two Single Beds in Greenbank.
Family Bathroom - Bathroom with large inviting bath and separate shower unit in Greenbank.
The View - A lovely idyllic setting looking across from Bunavoneader.
View of the old Whaling Station in Bunavoneader from the patio at Greenbank.
View of An Clisham from the road just outside Greenbank.
View of Bunavoneader Bay.  Greenbank is just to the right hand side of this picture.
Bunavoneader Tennis Court less than a mile up the road from Greenbank.
Waterfall at Amhuinnsuidhe Castle - along the Hushinish Road from Greenbank.
Hushinish Beach.
Seilebost Beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
teinish1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Greenbank”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely cottage, well equipped in a stunning location. Everything was as advertised and couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay in beautiful Harris.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your positive comments. I'm glad you had a good time in Harris and hope to welcome you back in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallersta...
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we want in a holiday home from home”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Greenbank is a wonderfully friendly place to stay. We had some pretty rotten weather on Harris but still had a really great holiday; the cottage played a very large part in that. It is just such a friendly place to come back to with gentle requests rather than long lists of rules. It is warm in every sense of the word. A couple of times, we arrived back like drowned rats and it just wrapped its arms around us. You will never be chilly in Greenbank and the shower is as good or better than anything we have at home. The house is packed with the kinds of things you want to recover from the gale: a good, well-equipped kitchen with a great space for chatting, satellite TV in two rooms, bookcases packed with things you want to read, games you want to play and DVDs you want to watch. And there are so many small things that make the difference between a hire and a home, like an outdoor tap to render the dog fit for human company, stunt kites, cool boxes and midge repellent. Someone has thought very hard about making her guests happy and we really appreciated it. And just in case you think the weather put us off Harris, can I put on the record that its raw beauty is unmatchable? I have travelled the world and yet I would still put it in my top five. We are planning to return for a much longer stay, hopefully in Greenbank.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unfussy, comfortable welcome that the place offers
Liked least: My duvet was so hot that I nearly fried
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Annie - thank you so much for your very positive review. I also loved the comments you put in the log book at Greenbank - especially the low-flying wheelie bins! I'm so glad you fell in love with Harris and I'd love to welcome you back to Greenbank as often as you like
Best wishes
Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cate4604
Ararat
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

One of the best presented and equipped cottage we have ever rented. We certainly recommend Greenbank to anyone who wants a cottage that welcomes you and looks after your every want. We hope to return to Greenbank in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and the sparkle
Liked least: nothing it was very good
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your positive comments. It would be lovely to welcome you back to Greenbank again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis E
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent base for touring the Outer Hebrides and only a short distance from ferry terminal”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Greenbank is a great place to stay and is ideally located for touring the islands. The accommodation itself was well appointed and more than adequate for our party of 4.Cooking and eating is important to us and the kitchen was well equipped and included a breakfast bar which catered for all of our dining needs without utilizing the dining room. Irene, the owner was particularly helpful in dealing with a problem that arose which she managed to sort out quickly and effectively. The icing on the cake was the excellent weather which Irene assured me she ordered especially for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: Only downside was midgies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your positive comments about your holiday in Greenbank which we hope will be repeated in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esi75
oban
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable, clean and well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely holiday in Greenbank. Cottage was warm and welcoming and very well equipped. Location was good for travelling to South Harris and also to Isle of Lewis. Our two dogs thoroughly enjoyed it and were safe in the enclosed garden. Only downside was lack of Wi-fi, especially when travelling with two teenagers. However all in all, teenagers included, we had a fantastic holiday at Greenbank.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and facilities.
Liked least: Lack of wi-fi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Glad to have such positive feedback. We have made a conscious decision not to provide Wifi as many of our visitors like to switch off completely when on holiday - but we may well reconsider in the future in the light of comments/requests from our guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing