We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location, comfy and cosy house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mol Ban, Urgha

The view from the master bedroom of the private shore and beyond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the master bedroom of the private shore and beyond
Mol Ban Mol Ban, Urgha
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The view from the master bedroom of the private shore and beyond
Mol Ban
Mol Ban, Urgha
Sunrise from the master bedroom
Rock Pooling, through the gate at the end of the garden
Dining area
Dining area into the living room
Well equipped kitchen
Master double bedroom, with Harris Tweed soft furnishings
Ensuite to the master bedroom, with sea view from the bath
Double bedroom
Lewis Chessmen and games cupboard in the second, separate lounge room
Grand Piano and plenty of books, in the second lounge area
The private shore with cloud cover
The bridge over the wee burn in the garden
Bluebells and the view to the bay, past the trees
Our only neighbours!
Our lovely guests took the time to draw in the guest book
View from the shore to Mol Ban
Harris Beaches are a short drive from Mol Ban, Urgha
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David w
1 review
“Stunning location, comfy and cosy house”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Absolutely amazing setting. Stunning views, with your own private beach, where you can see all manner or birds, as well as regular seals and otters.
The house is comfy, spacious and well appointed. Good wi-if connection and sky sports! Very helpful and communicative owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Dear David,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Molban. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you both back again. The open fire was well used I'm sure that week, hopefully next time the weather will be slightly kinder!

Best wishes,
Gill and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean D
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lack of communication with owner almost ruins the holiday”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Trusting from reviews that the owner would meet us upon our arrival, we found our way to Mol Ban. Then the problems began! There was no one to meet us and no way into the house. We searched for a key but only found a locked key box requiring a code for entrance. It was dark and raining. We are elderly and had several suitcases. Entry only occurred with the grace of God. We then looked for the typical owner's manual for directions and locations of items such as coal and firewood. There were NO instructions anywhere. Hence, for several days we did not realize that we could "boost" the heater for earlier in the afternoon when cold!!
Fortunately we had stayed in other Scottish homes over the years and could figure out the hob and oven, etc.
The weather was good and that saved the week for us. The location of the house is perfect and if we had not been so disappointed at not being met and shown around, we would give this five stars. Previous guests, writing in the guest book, have raved about the joy of meeting the owner and having all their questions answered. As overseas visitors, this was very disappointing.
Also the wireless allowed us only 24 hours of access and then we had to buy for the rest of the week. This was another upsetting turn of events

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of information in a timely manner from the owner
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Dear Jean,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are regularly commended on our excellent communication with visitors, so checked again upon reading your concerns and can confirm that all relevant information was sent in advance of your stay, by email. This included detailed directions, key code information, heating instructions and our contact details. We do make clear to guests that the key is accessed via a key safe and we are on hand to answer any questions either before or during your stay. There is a working phone in Molban and we are always very happy to help when anyone gets in touch. The key code system has always worked well for our guests before, but we are sorry you didn't have the information sent to hand and were hoping to meet us in person. Hopefully you found the discounted, additional night we arranged for you helpful when your return trip on the boat was fully booked and are delighted you enjoyed the cottage itself.

Our wifi is free for all guests so you should not have had to pay a fee. This has been reimbursed to you and BT has confirmed there is no problem with the service for future guests.

Should you return to Harris again we would very much like you welcome you back to Molban again.

Best wishes,
Gill and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim R
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Really relaxing stay, beautiful quiet location”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Prior to getting there we were slightly worried being so close to the port thinking it would be a bit too busy as we really wanted somewhere very quiet and we weren't disappointed in any way as it was perfect. Really quiet secluded beach straight in front of the house kept us occupied with seals daily (no otters unfortunately but others did see them) and just watching changing seas/weather. House was really spacious (we were 6) with everything we needed but not too neat that we didnt feel at home, very relaxed and just right. Alan the owner was great when we needed him and very communicative and helpful. Didnt eat out much (pricey and Im tight) but got some Langoustines from arriving fishing boat at Isle of Scalpay, some fresh fish and scallops from "Buckie Fish Van" that stops weekly at Harris Inn and lovely steaks from A.d Munro the local shop in Tarbert (which has most things). Harris and Lewis are small enough to get around easily and we walked a lot. Lighthouse in Scalpay, seeing eagles (just) and deer on walk with North Harris Trust , kayaking in Leverburgh were highlights along with beach at Luskentyre which is beautiful just not that hot!! Lovely relaxing holiday, house was nice to go back to at the end of a hard days travelling/walking and we much preferred Harris/Lewis to Skye, more remote and much less touristy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being on Harris,one of the most beautiful parts of the world I have ever visited and relaxing spacious house
Liked least: lack of heat although we were generally lucky and shouldn't have expected this despite hoping for months ahead it would be really hot. It was 18 tops but when sun was out it was fine and stunning environment makes up for lack of heat
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This has to be one of the best holiday cottages in Scotland. Right next to the Loch with seals and pups basking at the gate and a family of Otters to keep your eye out for. We took our Kayaks and had a guard of honor around the Loch with the seals. The cottage is well equipped and plenty of room to spread out and a great base to venture around Harris. Just working out when we can go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position..... superb
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volleybal...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, well equipped cottage with an amazing view”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As well as being an amazing cottage, the owner is also very open, friendly and organised, who will take care of any problems and queries immediately as well as advise on anything that you may wish to know!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing