We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“October holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Red House

Autumn glow on October morning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn glow on October morning
Evening in August viewed from the house. A peaceful haven Red House or Tigh Dearg with its iconic red roof  renovated from an old blackhouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Autumn glow on October morning
Evening in August viewed from the house.
A peaceful haven Red House or Tigh Dearg with its iconic red roof  renovated from an old blackhouse
The charm and character of the old blackhouse
Cosy evenings by a log fire
Cosy lounge with reclining sofa
King size bed
The mezzanine is a spacious light filled bedroom and lounge
Kitchen and dining area
Picnic Hamper
Luxurious wet room with underfloor heating and heated towel rails
Rainbow season in September
Standing alone in the Bays of Harris. the only traffic the ferry to nearby Tarbert
Dramatic scenery all round the coast
Looking down from the heather covered hill, an eagles eye view.
January sunshine and a bracing walk along a deserted beach
Sand and sea Neisabost beach in January
Snow House, magical atmosphere of snow covered Harris
April and a spectacular sunrise
Bog cotton at mid summer
One of the neighbours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
woodkw36
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“October holiday”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Communication from the owner Tracey was speedy and helpful, made to feel welcome on arrival. House was beautifully located, an ideal base for exploring Harris. Clean, comfortable, well equipped kitchen which catered for our needs, had fun in the evening with the wood burner fire, plenty of logs supplied for our 4night stay. Tracey's welcome pack included half a dozen eggs laid by her very own hens as well as plenty of other Scottish delights which were very much appreciated. Hope to be back here one day, would recommend a visit if your looking for some relaxation and breath taking scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AWaugh198...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and an enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. Tracey was most helpful and very fast to respond with enquiries about the rental. She also kindly arranged for earlier entry on our day of arrival which was much appreciated.

The cottage itself was lovely. Very comfortable and cosy lounge with woodturner and plenty of logs to use. Kitchen very well equipped for all of our needs. Milk in the fridge and a welcome basket was a thoughtful touch. The upstairs mezzanine area included brilliant views and a large comfortable bed. There was a garage where we could leave our bikes.

The only very slight negative point was that the power of the shower was surprisingly low, as the water pressure seemed very high when using the taps. The house is also located along a gravel pathway and you can't park right next to it. We had not realised this before we arrived. It really wasn't an issue and a wheelbarrow was provided to help with luggage, but worth noting for anyone less mobile or with lots of heavy bags.

Overall a brilliant stay in a delightful, well maintained and nicely located cottage with good views. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views right on your doorstep
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MR CHRIS...
1 review
“A beautiful cottage in a peaceful stunning location.”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a wonderful week staying at the Red House. The quality and comfort of the cottage are superb, with i beautiful peaceful location in the hills overlooking the loch. The owners welcome hamper of delicious treats and wine were particularly appreciated after a very long journey. We would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Red House , and look forward to visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hebridean Heaven”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is our second visit to the Harris and our second stay in The Red House. We came in Feb 2015 first and although the weather was CRAZY we fell in love with the place! The Red House is the most wonderful bolt hole for anyone who wants to recharge their batteries surrounded by natural beauty. It is so wonderfully soothing and calming inside. The stresses of life back home become a distant memory once you are sat upstairs looking through the windows down the bay. The wind whistling outside. Not many places are as cozy and romantic as this. This really is my fave little place of all the places I have ever been. You can spot seals basking at low tide on the rocks 2 mins away from the house.

It really is a magical place and one we will continue to head back to for years to come!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing