We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Probably our best ever holiday - a perfect place!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glorig Croft House

Glorig Croft House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glorig Croft House
View from the back door looking out to the Atlantic
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Glorig Croft House
View from the back door looking out to the Atlantic
Husinish Beach
Husinish Beach
Husinish looking over to the island of Scarp
View to the island of Scarp
Living room with peat fire
Living room
Conservatory with spectacular views to the Atlantic Ocean
Dining kitchen
Dining kitchen
Upstairs double bedroom
Upstairs double bedroom
Downstairs double bedroom
Single bedroom
Twin room
Family bathroom
Upstairs toilet
View from the garden
Husinish Beach
Turquoise waters at Husinish beach
Husinish Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ruppeerol...
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably our best ever holiday - a perfect place!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My family of 5 (including 2 boys, ages 6 & 8 a dog & a grandparent) had a fantastic week at Glorig Croft. We were lucky with the weather and spent our days down on the beautiful beach or going for long walks and looking for wildlife. The house is perfectly located for a remote holiday with gorgeous views and a 10-15mins walk to Huisnis beach. It was well equipped - both indoors and outdoors - with comfy beds and a sun trapping conservatory. Our only trips further afield were to explore South Harris and to spend a day on a rib boat. It was a truly relaxing week and in all my travels I have never seen such stunning beaches - and we had the added bonus of watching the basking sharks in the bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable family holiday. The happiest of times in a stunningly beautiiful place”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have holidayed for several years in the Western Isles, very happily. But this was the holiday to beat them all. Beadersaig is idyllic, and Glorig cottage is a wonderful place to stay - immaculate, comfortable, traditional but with mod cons too, spacious, warm, welcoming ... a perfect holiday home. What you find tallies exactly with what you can read about on the cottage website - in fact, it's even better. And communication from the owners is outstanding; they could not have been more helpful, and were a pleasure to deal with.
Driving the single track road to Glorig for the first time is an unforgettable experience, and it seems to become more rewarding each time it is travelled. Just beyond the cottage is Huishnish beach, a glorious expanse of white sand and turquoise water, recently voted one of the best beaches in the UK. It's easy to see why.
The burn running through the garden was a joy for our children, as was the freedom of the great outdoors. They were on the beach every day, as we enjoyed a week of unbroken sunshine - in March! Mountains' were climbed St Kilda was spotted on the horizon, stags roamed the land, and eagles soared above us.
A game of tennis was enjoyed on the most amazing location you've ever seen for a court.
And on the days we did not leave Glorig, the sense of relaxation ... well, it has to be experienced to be believed.
By the end of the week, we had run out of time to do everything we had planned to do - torn between getting out and about, and the temptation of succumbing to the comforts of Glorig. We love the beaches of South Harris, but we didn't even make it that far in a week. That tells its own story. It was such a special time for our family. We'd go back tomorrow if we could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing my family so happy
Liked least: Packing to go home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairelea...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family holiday!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed in the delightful cottage for a week following our wedding in August. The whole experience was well worth the drive... Fantastic drive to the cottage, idyllic location right by a beautiful beach. The cottage was very relaxing and well equipped.
Recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday with fabulous scenery.
The communication from the owner Marion was great and made for a stressfree booking, she even offered advice for booking the ferry and posted my husband's phone back that my little boy had hid in the sofa!
We will definitely be returning. Many thanks for a perfect honeymoon and family holiday.
Claire, Michael, Jake and Scarlett Leary.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma M
Gourock
1 review
“A wonderful, well equipped cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Excellent communication from the owner, the property and facilities were as described with useful additional information. (You do need to remember to stock up on provisions as it is half an hour to the nearest store, although the drive there is an experience with amazing aspects around every bend). We had a wonderful time in Harris, (complete with invigorating weather!) and we all loved Glorig in its magnificent setting. It was delightful and well equipped, we also appreciated the supply of peat and coal to make it even cosier on the wild nights (that saying, the house was well heated and the fire was really for pleasure!). Definitely highly recommendable all round, truly a pleasurable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Delightful cottage with magnificent views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFL02
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing haven of peace and tranquilty with spectacular scenery.”
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled to Glorig house along the spectacular road to Beadersaig, what an experience, the scenery is breathtaking and a route not to be forgotten. On arriving at Glorig house we were delighted to find a beautiful house that had everything we could possibly need during our stay. The house was very well equipped and even had boogie boards, beach towels and plenty of mats etc to make our numerous trips to the beach a joy. The house itself was very tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. There were plenty of well marked local maps that kept us right on our many adventures to the surrounding beaches and plenty of roads for cycling. We were very sorry to leave this perfect haven of peace and tranquilit, well worth the journey for a get-away-from-it-all break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing