We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, clean, comfy and cosy!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oaklea

Bungalow from garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bungalow from garden
Double Bedroom Lounge/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Bungalow from garden
Double Bedroom
Lounge/dining area
Dining in
Dining area
Rear  enclosed garden
Single bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Muir of Ord on a spring day
Approach to house from garage
Pond in Spring
Village square
Olympic Torch at nearby Loch ness
Golf Course
Local Scenery
Nearby Urquhart Castle and Loch ness
Garden with waterfall into pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Muir of Ord, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
KENNETH T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, clean, comfy and cosy!”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Liz's house suited us just perfectly. It has all you need for a short break. Everything works. Watching the birds in the pond was a nice bonus.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
777Anna19...
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quiet and central place to view the Highlands.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Liz is a lovely landlady who makes her guests welcome and sees to their needs! Muir of Ord is a small quiet town, and Oakley is great for both those using public transport, because it's right next to the bus stop and train station. There is also a well stocked coop for everyday groceries 10 minutes away from the bungalow. And for those that are mobile, who can reach more places by car and then return to rest in a most welcoming bungalow where you'll find everything you need. Oakley was not only spotless, but for a coeliac like me, it was good to find plastic chopping boards and metal/teflon utensils for cooking. The sound of trains is muffled and not annoying at all. We managed to see quite a lot by train, especially around Inverness, but also further afield to Dunrobin castle. I am glad I can recommend this sweet bungalow that was like a home away from home for us, my husband and our fourteen year old son! Thank you LIz and Gregor, I hope we'll see you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodation, the area, the price, the friendliness.
Liked least: Hard to tell.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryM242...
2 reviews
“Home from home.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a brilliant time at Oaklea. It was clean, comfortable and welcoming. The garden is also very beautiful. We where made very welcome by the owner Liz.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowGolem
Alcoy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and nice cottage”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My friends and me booked that accomodation for two days, and we felt like at home. Everything was clean and the kitchen had all the accesories to made a nice food, very complete. The beds were confortable, the house was warm... what else can we ask for?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
237momo
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“absoulity wonderful”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

had lovely time at bungalow cannot fault it everything was there even left milk and shortbread, garden is a delight to relax watch Elizabeth.s fountain my grandaughters just loved it, and Elizabeth is a lovely lady very helpful and made us most welcome this is a + place as a base for highlands, or just to chill get bit peace quiet 11/10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: its all good
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing