We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tenterden
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
USD 321*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 362*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poolewe Hotel(Poolewe)
USD 153*
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morefield Motel(Ullapool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
42
8
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
8
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsdelicious breakfastserved upstairsdouble roomb bother guestsplace to staylovely placesimonbookshousehostsaccommodationpubsstornowayferry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Me and my partner stayed here for one night and found that we didn't want to leave. The owners were very pleasant, quirky, thoughtful and laid-back. Ullapool itself is lovely, and to find this B&B in the centre of all the action really made our one night special. Even though we feel that we did everything that we wanted to do in Ullapool, the need to return is heightened by this B&B itself. Breakfast was divine, fresh fruit, followed by a selection of breads, served with home-made jams and honey, then a full fry up with toast and a hot cafetiere of coffee.... All with magnificent views out over the loch. Our stay here taught us a lesson, "there is beauty in everything". Do not miss out on this B&B if you are planning to stay in Ullapool, it really is the best we have visited!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

When my friend and I arrived in Ullapool, the farthest north point of our Scottish Easter trip, we did not even know where we should overnight. We were used to looking for B&B and got attracted by their wooden house, so different from the other usual ones, with their white facade. The price was a little bit over the average thought convenient. A nice lady with white hair accompanied by her grandchild opened the door unformally. The price was 30£ a night, breakfast included. We went to look for other alternatives but got back to this unusual B&B eventually. The second time we were welcome by a smiling man in a pinkish kilt. That was fantastic. Meeting someone so attached to his tradition that even wears a kilt at home and not as a matter of folklore. You can choose between a normal British breakfast or can opt for an array of cheese. The latter is what we did and proved to be the best option. At breakfast we enjoyed our meal with the family, their childrne and grandchildren and teh cat Spock. It was the only time we entertained with our hosts and were given personal advice. I dare say this is what I would expect fron a B&B: sharing the house and your views with your hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sarapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We( three mid 20 on a hiking trip through the western highlands) really do recommend this neat B&B. We enjoyed a very warm welcome, plenty of hot water ( we were even allowed to use the tub), delicious breakfast ( u wont need lunch) and a clean room (it was no problem to get an extra mattress). All this is offered for a very reasonable rate.

Cheers

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rindercappajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We spent 10 days touring the Scottish Highlands, and Tenterden was by far our favourite B&B. A quirky wooden abode set slightly back from the main street opposite the harbour of Ullapool, apprehension soon gave way to that 'warmed cockles' feeling when we were greeted and shown in. Whilst you may describe the decor as unusual, it is full of character; our double room was spacious, clean and inviting, with a rug-covered floor and anitique furnishings. The separate bathroom was what many would call old-fashioned, but anything else would have detracted from the character of the house. Besides, it was fully functionable, spotlessly clean and a delight to look at, with period sanitaryware as well as a shower over the bath. The whole house oozed tasteful, quirky yet classy character. Breakfast was fantastic- fresh fruit, cereals, toast, tea & coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice and a cooked breakfast really set us up for the day. Our hosts were kind and hospitable, and their cute and cuddly cat Spock guarded our door. Rates were incredibly reasonable. It was our most memorable stay and we'd have no hesitation in recommending to others and returning ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dancer410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

I found a house in Ullapool, a very small house it seemed, with a small sign saying B&B..ahh just what I needed. Knocked the door and was welcomed by Simon...a hearty welcome as he showed us to the room...a big surpise as the house was actually ten time as big as it showed from the street. The room was large and incredibly comfortable, beautifully decorated and very clean so was the rest of the house aswell.

The nights sleep was excellent, the house is quiet, as it situated in the back of the garden facing Shore Street, and as an extra plus presenting a wonderful view of the Ullapool harbour and Loch Broom eastwards.

Full Scottish Breakfast was served in the morning well prepared and including Stornoway Blackpudding....knowing that organic is one of the keywords at Tenterden it adds extra value!

Simons house gave me a "homecoming" feeling and I felt like I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Branduir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews